Key: Meeting M      Journal J      Funder F

Showing releases 101-113 out of 113.

<< < 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

Public Release: 11-Aug-2015
16th World Conference on Lung Cancer
IASLC announces recipients of advocacy travel awards
The International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer announced the recipients of the Advocacy Travel Awards. Five winners will receive funding to attend the 16th World Conference on Lung Cancer Sept. 6-9, 2015 at the Colorado Convention Center in Denver. Funding is provided by Bristol-Myers Squibb and includes conference registration, hotel accommodations, travel stipend and complimentary IASLC membership for one year.
Bristol-Myers Squibb

Contact: Jeffrey Wolf
International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer

Public Release: 10-Aug-2015
LA BioMed researcher to receive Young Investigator Award
Dr. Nagendra Mishra will be honored by the American Society of Microbiology with at its 2015 Interscience Conference of Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Sept. 17-21 in San Diego.

Contact: Laura Mecoy
Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center (LA BioMed)

Public Release: 10-Aug-2015
Seventeen ASTRO members awarded Fellows designation
The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has selected 17 distinguished members to receive the ASTRO Fellows designation. The 2015 class of Fellows will receive the recognition at the Awards Ceremony at ASTRO's 57th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 20 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio.

Contact: Erin L. Boyle
American Society for Radiation Oncology

Public Release: 10-Aug-2015
Ranier Blatt wins Bell Prize for trailblazing quantum research
On Aug. 20th, 2015, world-renowned quantum physicist Rainer Blatt will be awarded a prestigious prize for his contributions to the development of quantum information technologies, during the Conference on Quantum Information and Quantum Control being held at the Fields Institute at the University of Toronto.

Contact: Amr Helmy
University of Toronto Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Public Release: 8-Aug-2015
Fraunhofer researchers win Kingslake award
An article from researchers at Fraunhofer IOF describing a new LED-based method for high-speed 3-D shape measurement has been announced as the winner of the 2014 Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize. The annual award is made to authors of the most noteworthy original paper on theoretical or experimental aspects of optical engineering published in Optical Engineering, the flagship journal of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics.

Contact: Amy Nelson
SPIE--International Society for Optics and Photonics

Public Release: 6-Aug-2015
2015 AIP science writing award for articles goes to Andrew Grant/Science News
The American Institute of Physics has named Andrew Grant, a Washington, DC-based science reporter, as one of the winners of the 2015 AIP Science Communication Awards.

Contact: Jason Socrates Bardi
American Institute of Physics

Public Release: 5-Aug-2015
ONR scientist awarded for 'game-changing' research on wireless networks
For his work on network information theory -- which seeks to determine how many users and devices a wireless network can support -- Dr. Syed Jafar, a professor at the University of California, Irvine, recently won the 2015 Blavatnik National Award for Young Scientists.

Contact: Bob Freeman
Office of Naval Research

Public Release: 5-Aug-2015
Bioscience students earn scholarships from the ASBMB for commitment to diversity
Five students from across the United States earned Distinguished Undergraduate Scholarships from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology for their academic accomplishments in the face of adversity and commitment to increasing educational access for underrepresented students.

Contact: Allison Frick
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Public Release: 5-Aug-2015
Moffitt Cancer Center's Dr. James J. Mulé named Master of Immunology
James J. Mulé, Ph.D., associate center director for Translational Science at Moffitt Cancer Center, has been named a Master of Immunology by the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) publication Cancer Immunology Research.

Contact: Kim Polacek
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

Public Release: 4-Aug-2015
Mobile FabLab helps pediatric patients better understand their condition
A collaboration between the UTA Libraries and Cook Children's Medical Center in Fort Worth means new high-tech healthcare learning opportunities for young patients.
National Networks of Libraries of Medicine South Central Region

Contact: Bridget Lewis
University of Texas at Arlington

Public Release: 4-Aug-2015
AIDS research prize for Warwick academic
A researcher at the University of Warwick has received international recognition for his contribution to AIDS research. Dr. Olalekan Uthman, assistant professor in research synthesis at the University's Warwick Medical School, has received the award for co-authoring the most cited article in the prestigious journal AIDS.

Contact: Nicola Jones
University of Warwick

Public Release: 4-Aug-2015
ASME International Design Engineering Technical Conferences (IDETC)
NYU Engineering professor honored for study of energy expenditure in robotic systems
The Design Engineering Division of American Society of Mechanical Engineers will award New York University's Joo H. Kim its 2015 Freudenstein / General Motors Young Investigator Award for his studies of energy expenditure in robotic systems--an area of promise in manufacturing, national defense, and industry. Kim developed a system to measure and analyze with unprecedented accuracy the energy expenditure of robots, which may allow them to mimic the naturally efficient gait of humans.

Contact: Kathleen Hamilton
New York University Polytechnic School of Engineering

Public Release: 4-Aug-2015
Award for a pioneer of Alzheimer's research
British neuroscientist John Hardy will be awarded this year's 'Hartwig Piepenbrock-DZNE Prize' which is endowed with 60,000 Euro. Piepenbrock and the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases herewith honor his seminal contributions to the study of Alzheimer's disease.

Contact: Dr. Marcus Neitzert
DZNE - German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases

Showing releases 101-113 out of 113.

<< < 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5