[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Rob Gutro
Robert.J.Gutro@nasa.gov
301-286-4044
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

NASA AIRS Infrared Image of Cyclone Yasi

Caption: At 03:29 UTC /1:29 p.m. Australia local time on Febr. 2 (10:29 p.m. EST, Feb. 1), the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) instrument captured an infrared image of Cyclone Yasi as its center was just southeast of Willis Island. The infrared image showed powerful thunderstorms with strong convection and heavy rainfall (purple) surrounding a large area around a very clear eye.

Credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen

Usage Restrictions: None

Related news release: NASA Aqua Satellite sees powerful Cyclone Yasi make landfall in Queensland, Australia


[ Back to EurekAlert! ]