[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Lynn Chandler
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

4 Different Types of Mirrors on the Webb Telescope.

Caption: This image shows the four different types of mirrors on the Webb telescope. From left to right are: a primary mirror segment, the secondary mirror, tertiary mirror and the fine steering mirror. The bottom right shows an artist's conception of the Webb telescope optics with its 18 primary mirror segments.

Credit: NASA/Ball Aerospace/Tinsley

Usage Restrictions: None

Related news release: 2012: The Webb telescope's big year of progress

[ Back to EurekAlert! ]