[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Juliette Savin
pr@riken.jp
81-048-462-1225
RIKEN

New Fluorescent Protein from Eel Revolutionizes Key Clinical Assay

Loading video...

Caption: Unagi, the sea-going Japanese freshwater eel, harbors a fluorescent protein that could serve as the basis for a revolutionary new clinical test for bilirubin, a critical indicator of human liver function, hemolysis, and jaundice, according to researchers from the RIKEN Brain Science Institute. The discovery also sheds light on the mysterious and endangered Unagi that could contribute to its conservation.

Credit: RIKEN

Usage Restrictions: UNDER EMBARGO UNTIL: 12:00 PM Noon US Eastern Time 16:00 GMT on June 13, 2013/ 01:00 am JST on June 14, 2013

Related news release: New fluorescent protein from eel revolutionizes key clinical assay


[ Back to EurekAlert! ]