[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Juliette Savin
pr@riken.jp
81-048-462-1225
RIKEN

Fluorescence Image of a Transverse Section of a Formalin-Fixed Eel

Caption: Drs. Atsushi Miyawaki, Akiko Kumagai and their team cloned a gene from Unagi for an unusual fluorescent protein they named UnaG, for Unagi Green protein, that allows eels to glow in the dark . UnaG is the first fluorescent protein found in vertebrates; previously they were thought to exist only in simple animals like jellyfish.

Credit: RIKEN

Usage Restrictions: UNDER EMBARGO UNTIL: 12:00 PM Noon US Eastern Time 16:00 GMT on June 13, 2013/ 01:00 am JST on June 14, 2013

Related news release: New fluorescent protein from eel revolutionizes key clinical assay


[ Back to EurekAlert! ]