[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Juliette Savin
juliette.savin@riken.jp
81-048-462-1225
RIKEN

Measured Spectrum of the 2-Color XFEL

Caption: A team working at the SACLA X-ray Free-Electron Laser in Japan has succeeded in generating ultra-bright, two-color X-ray laser pulses, for the first time in the hard X-ray region. These light pulses with different wavelengths, whose time separation can be adjusted with attosecond accuracy, are very powerful tools to investigate the structure of matter and the dynamics of ultrafast physical processes and chemical reactions.

Credit: RIKEN

Usage Restrictions: UNDER EMBARGO UNTIL: 05:00 EST / 10:00 GMT / 19:00 JST on Wednesday 4th December

Related news release: Intense 2-color double X-ray laser pulses: a powerful tool to study ultrafast processes


[ Back to EurekAlert! ]