[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Juliette Savin
juliette.savin@riken.jp
81-080-889-52136
RIKEN

Transverse Momentum and Spin in the Evanescent Wave above a Prism

Caption: Transverse force and torque on a particle in evanescent field generated from a total internal reflection in a glass prism. These reveal the presence of the transverse momentum and spin in the evanescent wave above the prism.

Credit: RIKEN

Usage Restrictions: UNDER EMBARGO UNTIL: 10:00 GMT / 05:00 EST/ 19:00 JST on March 6, 2014

Related news release: Extraordinary momentum and spin discovered in evanescent light waves


[ Back to EurekAlert! ]