[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

Contact: Marcie Grabowski
University of Hawaii ‑ SOEST

Three Volcanoes Comprising O'ahu

Caption: Map showing schematically the distribution of the three volcanoes now thought to have made up the region of O'ahu, Hawai'i. From oldest to youngest these are the Ka'ena, Wai'anae, and Ko'olau Volcanoes. Upper panel: bold dashed lines delineate possible rift zones of the three volcanoes; also shown are the major landslide deposits around O'ahu. The lower panel shows how the three volcanic edifices overlap.

Credit: J. Sinton, et al., UH SOEST

Usage Restrictions: Image may be used with appropriate caption and credit.

Related news release: On the shoulder of a giant: Precursor volcano to the island of O'ahu discovered

[ Back to EurekAlert! ]