[ Back to EurekAlert! ] Public release date: 19-Apr-2007
[ | E-mail Share Share ]

Contact: Steve Majewski
smajewski@acponline.org
856-981-1921
American College of Physicians

ACP and ACP Foundation launch tools to improve diabetes care

PHILADELPHIA, April 19, 2007 -- Eat right. Exercise. Monitor blood sugar. Take medication regularly. This is the advice physicians give the more than 20 million Americans affected with diabetes. Yet implementation of these recommendations is often far from ideal, putting patients at greater risk for damage to the heart, kidneys, eyes, and feet.

In an effort to close this gap, the American College of Physicians (ACP) and the American College of Physicians Foundation (ACPF) are unveiling three practical tools for practicing internists who are ACP members, other healthcare professionals on clinical practice teams, and their patients.

These comprehensive educational tools are the culmination of an ambitious three-year Diabetes Initiative funded by an unrestricted educational grant from Novo Nordisk.

"The goals of providing these resources," said Vincenza Snow, MD, FACP, Director, Clinical Programs and Quality of Care at ACP, "are to increase awareness of the gap between current practice and acceptable standards of diabetes care; provide educational interventions to improve diabetes care; increase physician awareness of what constitutes high quality, evidence-based diabetes care; and recognize medical practices that improve their diabetes care."

The following materials are designed to help physicians and their staff to implement team-based care strategies, provide them with practical tools and motivate patients to implement lifestyle changes and self-management techniques.

Both Living with Diabetes and the ACP Diabetes Care Guide can be ordered at http://diabetes.acponline.org and are free to ACP members.

"Diabetes is a dangerous disease that is growing annually," said Lynne M. Kirk, MD, FACP, president of ACP. "ACP and ACPF designed these resources - based on best-practices and evidence-based clinical guidance - to engage both physicians and patients to improve diabetes care in the United States."

In addition to the three Diabetes Initiative resources, a free CD-ROM of all diabetes-related presentations given at the previous three internal medicine annual meetings (2005-2007) will be distributed to ACP members. The CD-ROM will have audio and synchronized PowerPoint slides from the presentations and will allow users to share this educational program with other members of their diabetes care team.

###

About ACP and ACPF The American College of Physicians (www.acponline.org) is the largest medical specialty organization and the second-largest physician group in the United States. ACP members include 120,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internists specialize in the prevention, detection, and treatment of illness in adults.

The ACP Foundation (http://foundation.acponline.org), incorporated in 1999, supports the mission of ACP and strives to enhance professionalism and to improve the health and welfare of patients and society through initiatives that provide patients with the information they need to understand and manage their health.

The above topic is the subject of a video news release from the American College of Physicians. Satellite feed times and coordinates are:

DAY/DATE: THURSDAY, APRIL 19, 2007

TIMES: 10:00-10:15 AM ET / 9:00-9:15 AM CT / 8:00-8:15 AM MT / 7:00-7:15 AM PT

2:00-2:30 PM ET / 1:00-1:30 PM CT / 12:00-12:30 PM MT / 11:00-11:30 AM PT

SATELLITE: SBS 6 (KU BAND)

TRANSPONDER: K-2 (TWO) ANALOG

DL FREQUENCY: 11749 VERTICAL

AUDIO: 6.2, 6.8



[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]

 


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.