[ Back to EurekAlert! ]


[ | E-mail ] Share Share

Contact: Maria Callier
Air Force Office of Scientific Research

AFOSR awards grants to 43 scientists and engineers through its Young Investigator Research Program

The Air Force Office of Scientific Research today announced it will award approximately $16.5 million in grants to 43 scientists and engineers who submitted winning research proposals through the Air Force's Young Investigator Research Program.

The YIP is open to scientists and engineers at research institutions across the United States who received Ph.D. or equivalent degrees in the last five years and show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research.

The objective of this program is to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators, and increase opportunities for the young investigators to recognize the Air Force mission and the related challenges in science and engineering.

The intense competition for the YIP Award resulted in AFOSR receiving 242 proposals in response to its broad agency announcement in major areas of interest to the Air Force including, aerospace, chemical and material sciences; physics and electronics; and mathematics, information and life sciences. Proposals were based on the evaluation criteria listed in AFOSR's broad agency announcement. Those selected will receive the grants over a three to five year period.

The recipients and their anticipated research areas are:



The Air Force Office of Scientific Research, located in Arlington, Virginia, continues to expand the horizon of scientific knowledge through its leadership and management of the Air Force's basic research program. As a vital component of the Air Force Research Laboratory, AFOSR's mission is to discover, shape, and champion basic science that profoundly impacts the future Air Force.

[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.