[ Back to EurekAlert! ] Public release date: 7-Feb-2013
[ | E-mail Share Share ]

Contact: Andrew Myers
Stanford School of Engineering

8 Stanford Engineering faculty elected to National Academy of Engineering

Eight professors from the Stanford University School of Engineering are among the newly elected National Academy of Engineering (NAE) members, the NAE said today.

According to the NAE, membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

There are just 2,250 U.S. members of NAE and 211 foreign associates. The eight newly elected members bring Stanford Engineering's NAE membership to more than 80.

"Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions any engineer can receive and the Stanford School of Engineering is tremendously proud of these much-deserving recipients from our faculty," said Jim Plummer, Dean of the Stanford School of Engineering.

The eight Stanford faculty elected in 2013 are:


[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.