[ Back to EurekAlert! ] Public release date: 7-May-2013
[ | E-mail Share Share ]

Contact: Cornelia Lossau
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

DFG announces recipients of 2013 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize

Wide range of disciplines -- Number of prizes and prize money increased

This news release is available in German.

This year's recipients of the most important prize for early career researchers in Germany have been announced. The selection committee appointed by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) and the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) have chosen nine researchers, four women and five men, to receive the 2013 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize. This year the BMBF has increased the prize money from €16,000 to €20,000 per prize. The number of recipients also increased, with only six prizes having been awarded in previous years. The awards ceremony for the 2013 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prizes will be held on 3 June in Berlin.

The higher number of awards and the increased prize money reflect the excellent reputation of the prize, which has been awarded annually since 1977. In a survey carried out by bild der wissenschaft magazine, the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize was voted the third most important research prize in Germany by the leading research institutions – after the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, presented by the DFG, and the Deutscher Zukunftspreis, awarded by the German Federal President. The DFG sees the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize as both recognition and an incentive to early career researchers to continue pursuing a path in research.

This year's recipients are:

A total of 123 candidates representing all fields of research were nominated for this year's prize. Of the nominated researchers, 45 were shortlisted and the selection committee then chose the nine prizewinners.

The chair of the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize selection committee, DFG Vice President Prof. Dorothea Wagner, emphasised the wide range of disciplines represented by the winners: "Over the years the prize has demonstrated an elegant balance and has reflected the diversity of the German research system. This year I'm especially pleased to see prizewinners from the so-called 'smaller' disciplines, and to be able to recognise the excellent work being done in these fields."

The patron, Prof. Heinz Maier-Leibnitz, was a physicist and the President of the DFG between 1974 and 1979. The prize that bears his name was set up and first awarded during his time in office.

This year's recipients:


Further Information

Media representatives are invited to attend the awards ceremony, which will be held at 2 pm on 3 June 2013 at the Magnus-Haus, Am Kupfergraben 7, 10117 Berlin, Germany. Please register in advance with the DFG Press and Public Relations Office: Tel. +49 228 885-2443, Jutta.Hoehn@dfg.de

More information about the prize and previouswinners is available at: http://www.dfg.de/en/funded_projects/prizewinners/maier_leibnitz_prize

Contact person at the DFG Head Office:

Annette Lessenich, Quality Assurance and Programme Development Division, Tel. +49 228 885-2835, Annette.Lessenich@dfg.de

[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.