[ Back to EurekAlert! ] Public release date: 15-Aug-2013
[ | E-mail Share Share ]

Contact: Rob Gutro
robert.j.gutro@nasa.gov
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Ex-Tropical Storm Utor still raining on southern China

IMAGE: NASA's Terra satellite passed over China at 03:25 UTC on Aug. 15 (11:25 p.m. EDT) and captured this visible image that showed Utor still has an obvious circulation....

Click here for more information.

NASA satellite data revealed that the day after Typhoon Utor made landfall in southern China, its circulation still appeared intact despite weakening over land.

Typhoon Utor's eye made landfall around 0730 UTC/3:30 a.m. EDT on Aug. 14. On Aug. 15, Utor was still dropping rain over southern China.

NASA's Terra satellite passed over China at 03:25 UTC on Aug. 15 (11:25 p.m. EDT) and the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument captured a visible image of Utor. The MODIS image showed Utor still had a circulation, despite weakening to a low pressure area.

On Aug. 15, Utor was raining over the western part of the Guandong Province, the eastern part of the Guangxi Province and southern part of the Hunan Province. Despite areas of moderate rainfall, all warnings had been dropped by the China Meteorological Administration on Aug. 15.

Aljazeera News reported that Utor was responsible for the death of one person and five people were still missing as of Aug. 15. Utor was the twelfth tropical cyclone to hit China in 2013.

###

Text credit: Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]

 


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.