[ Back to EurekAlert! ] Public release date: 18-Sep-2013
[ | E-mail Share Share ]

Contact: Rob Gutro
robert.j.gutro@nasa.gov
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

NASA sees formation of northwestern Pacific's Tropical Depression 18W

IMAGE: NASA's Aqua satellite caught the birth of the eighteenth tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean tropical cyclone season on Sept. 18 at 0616 UTC/2:16 a.m. EDT....

Click here for more information.

NASA's Aqua satellite caught the birth of the eighteenth tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean tropical cyclone season. Tropical Depression 18W was born in the South China Sea and is expected to be short-lived after a quick landfall in central Vietnam.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of disorganized Tropical Depression 18W on Sept. 18 at 0616 UTC/2:16 a.m. EDT. Satellite imagery showed that the circulation is large, and that convection and thunderstorms appear disorganized on the northern and western edges of the storm.

On Sept. 18 at 0900 UTC/5 a.m. EDT, Tropical Depression 18W had maximum sustained winds near 25 knots. It was located just 125 nautical miles east-northeast of Da Nang, Vietnam, near 16.5 north and 109.9 east over the South China Sea. It was moving to the west-northwest at 7 knots.

TD18W is expected to make landfall in central Vietnam on Sept. 19, just south of Hue. It is then expected to continue moving west-southwest and is expected to dissipate within a day after making landfall.

###

Text credit: Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]

 


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.