[ Back to EurekAlert! ]


[ | E-mail ] Share Share

Contact: Gail Pinder
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

MARC travel awards announced for the 2013 ABRCMS Meeting

Bethesda, MD – FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the 2013 Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) meeting in Nashville, TN from November 13-16, 2013. These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, postdoctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the ABRCMS annual meeting.

Awards are given to poster/platform presenters and faculty mentors paired with the students/trainees they mentor. This year MARC conferred 60 awards totaling $119,550.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented minorities engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.


Sammy Cowell, Azusa Pacific University

Courtney Cunningham, Stillman College

Thamar Etienne, Towson University

Ashley Harrison, Southern University and A & M College –Baton Rouge

Bhavna Jois, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Gaurav Luthria, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Vanessa Mackley, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Jessica Mina, Chaminade University

Yves Nazon, II, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Anthony Nguyen, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Oscar Paniagua Morales, Colorado Mesa University

Yen Phan, University of Massachusetts, Boston

Mashhood Wani, University of Maryland, Baltimore County [ASPET member]

Neco Wilson, Michigan State University


Lillian Assatourian, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Fatoumata Balde, Virginia Commonwealth University

Karen Carlson, University of Alaska, Anchorage

ShellyAnne Clarke-Lambert, Medgar Evers College

Courtey Christian, University of Pittsburgh/Community College of Allegheny County

Violeta Contreras Ramirez, City College of New York

Ama Darkwa, Brandeis University

Phillip Dela Cruz, Chaminade University of Honolulu

Imaani Easthausen, Bard College

Omolayo Fatola, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Jessica Fraser, Queens College

Dionna Gamble, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Jarreau Harrison, Medgar Evers College

Michelle Johnson, Oberlin College

Azel King, Medgar Evers College

Brianna Maestas, Chaminade University of Honolulu

Oleg Makarevich, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Malika Malik, University of Michigan

Sindi Moore, Elizabeth City State University

Ashaki Nehisi, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

David Nicholson, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Isomary Poventud-Fuentes, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez

Brittany Prioleau, Winthrop University [SDB member]

Vani Ravichandran, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Ricardo Rivera-Soto, University of Puerto Rico at Arecibo

Ashley Rivera, Rochester Institute of Technology

Juan Santoyo, Brown University

A.C. Everard Saunders, Medgar Evers College

Pauline Xu, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Michelle Valdiviez, The University of Texas at El Paso

Byron Williams, Savannah State University


Dr. Bolaji Thomas, Rochester Institute of Technology [AAI Member]

Chantelle Brown, Rochester Institute of Technology

Kristen Navarro, Rochester Institute of Technology

Ms. Sarah Deemer, Colorado State University [ACSM member]

Dr. Kamilah Grant, Tuskegee University [SSR member]

Dr. L'Aurelle Johnson, University of Minnesota [ASPET Member]

Dr. LeeCole Legette, Oregon State University [ACSM Member]

Dr. Kimberly Mulligan, Vanderbilt University [APS Member]

Dr. Chloe Poston, Eli Lilly & Company

Ms. Janice Reuben, The University of Michigan

Dr. Jayne Reuben, University of South Carolina School of Medicine [ASIP Member]

Dr. Kennie Shepherd, Morehouse School of Technology, [ASPET Member]

Dr. David Vigerust, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine [AAI Member]

Dr. Tracy Womble, Florida A&M University

Dr. Cecelia Yates-Binder, University of Pittsburgh [ASIP Member]


[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.