[ Back to EurekAlert! ]


[ | E-mail ] Share Share

Contact: Kat Zambon
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Neimark Award winners study statistics, chemistry, plant sciences, astrophysics and linguistics

The five winners of the 2013 Joshua E. Neimark Memorial Travel Assistance Award study biostatistics, molecular and environmental plant sciences, chemistry, particle astrophysics, and second language acquisition.

The award recipients will receive financial support to attend America's largest general scientific conference, the 2014 Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), 13-17 February in Chicago. (See http://www.aaas.org/meetings.)

All five recipients submitted posters selected to be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting. They are:


About the Joshua E. Neimark Endowment

Dr. Joshua E. Neimark was born in March 1931 in Sea Bright, New Jersey. He demonstrated extraordinary intelligence, but he also was prone to serious respiratory disease. He completed public school with distinction, then received an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), a master's degree from the California Institute of Technology, and a doctorate from MIT. He succumbed to illness in April 1961, at the age of 30, and his doctoral dissertation was published posthumously. The award, established in his memory by his sister, Dr. Edith D. Neimark, is intended to assist young scientists in attaining a career in their chosen field, a goal that Joshua Neimark did not live to achieve.

The Joshua E. Neimark Memorial Travel Assistance Endowment provides four grants each year to support travel for early career scholars who have been invited to present posters at the AAAS Annual Meeting. The AAAS Poster Sessions provide individuals with an opportunity to present their research. All posters are peer-reviewed, and accepted posters are listed in the AAAS Annual Meeting Poster Book. Abstracts appear on the Annual Meeting Abstract CD, within the Program Book.

Eligibility is restricted to graduate students, or those who have received an advanced degree within the past three years. The field of study must be in one of the following areas: life, physical, or social sciences, engineering; or in an interdisciplinary field that includes one of these.

CONTACTS: For general information on the AAAS Awards Ceremony or other background, Senior Communications Officer Katharine Zambon of AAAS can be reached at (202) 326-6434, or kzambon@aaas.org.

[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.