[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

PUBLIC RELEASE DATE:
20-Mar-2014

[ | E-mail ] Share Share

Contact: Rob Gutro
robert.j.gutro@nasa.gov
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Satellite confirms Tropical Cyclone Mike's quick disappearing act

IMAGE: NOAA's GOES-West or GOES-15 satellite captured this infrared image of Tropical Storm Mike dissipating in the Southwestern Pacific Ocean on March 20 at 1500 UTC.

Click here for more information.

Tropical Cyclone Mike didn't even last a day in the Southern Pacific Ocean as NOAA's GOES-West satellite revealed the storm dissipating just 24 hours after it was born.

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center's second update on Tropical Cyclone Mike was its last. At 2100 UTC/5 p.m. EDT Mike was located near 24.3 south latitude and 157.9 west, about 618 nautical miles/711.1 miles/ 1,145 km southwest of Papeete, Tahiti. Maximum sustained winds were near 35 knots/40 mph/62 kph at that time.

All warnings for the Southern Cook Islands were cancelled and Mike was quickly weakening while becoming extra-tropical. By 1500 UTC/11 a.m. EDT on March 20, NOAA's GOES-West satellite imagery showed that the tropical cyclone had transitioned and was dissipating. In the GOES-West image, Mike's remnants looked like a wisp of clouds. The image was created at NASA/NOAA's GOES Project at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Md.

###



[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]

 


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.