[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

PUBLIC RELEASE DATE:
4-Apr-2014

[ | E-mail ] Share Share

Contact: Rob Gutro
robert.j.gutro@nasa.gov
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
www.twitter.com/NASAGoddard

NASA sees Tropical Depression 05W's bulk west of center

IMAGE: NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite passed over Tropical Depression 05W on April 4 at 07:09 UTC/3:09 a.m. EDT.

Click here for more information.

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite passed over Tropical Depression 05W on April 4 at 07:09 UTC/3:09 a.m. EDT. The VIIRS instrument captured a visible picture of the storm, revealing most of the clouds and thunderstorms were west of the center.

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center or JTWC noted that animated multispectral satellite imagery today, April 3, showed that the low-level circulation center is well-defined and that there is fragmented convective banding of thunderstorms wrapping from the north into the southwest, so most of the strongest convection and thunderstorms are on the western side of the center.

At 0900 UTC/5 a.m. EDT on April 4, Tropical Depression 05W (05W) had maximum sustained winds near 30 knots/35 mph/55 kph. It was located near 3.4 north latitude and 143.7 east longitude, about 629 nautical miles/902.2 miles/1,452 km east-southeast of Koror. The depression is moving to the west at 8 knots/10.3 mph/16.6 kph.

JTWC forecasters noted that 05W is forecast to track in a northwesterly direction through waters with high ocean heat content, so the storm is expected to strengthen into a tropical storm by April 5.

###

Text credit: Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]

 


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.