[ Back to EurekAlert! ]

PUBLIC RELEASE DATE:
27-Aug-2014

[ | E-mail ] Share Share

Contact: Rob Gutro
robert.j.gutro@nasa.gov
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
@NASAGoddard

Karina's remnants drawn into Hurricane Marie's spin

Karina finally became a remnant low pressure area after roaming around in the Eastern Pacific for two weeks. Satellite data on August 27 showed that the now shapeless former hurricane was being drawn into nearby Hurricane Marie's circulation.

The last bulletin on Karina was issued by the National Hurricane Center on August 27 at 0300 UTC (11 p.m. EDT on Tuesday, August 26).

At that time, Karina's maximum sustained winds were near 30 mph (45 kph). It was centered near latitude 15.9 north and longitude 126.5 west. That's 1,185 miles (1,905 km) west-southwest of the southern tip of Baja California, Mexico. Karina was moving toward the southeast near 5 mph (7 kph) and was expected to turn east-northeast as it continues moving around Hurricane Marie's circulation.

Infrared imagery from NOAA's GOES-West satellite on August 27 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) showed the remnants of Karina caught up in Hurricane Marie's circulation. Karina's remnants appeared as a formless shape of clouds southwest of Marie. The GOES image was created by NASA/NOAA's GOES Project at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland.

Karina is expected to open up into a trough (elongated area) of low pressure late on Wednesday, August 27 as it continues to be drawn around Hurricane Marie.

###

Text credit: Rob Gutro

NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



[ Back to EurekAlert! ] [ | E-mail Share Share ]

 


AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert! system.