Public Release: 

Former Hurricane Pali peters out near Equator

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

IMAGE

IMAGE: NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured this image of the remnants of Tropical Depression Pali in the North Central Pacific on Jan. 15 at 1200 UTC (7 a.m. EST). view more

Credit: Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Imagery from NOAA's GOES-West satellite has shown that former Hurricane Pali has petered out near the Equator.

The NASA/NOAA GOES Project at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland created an image of the remnant clouds of former Hurricane Pali from NOAA's GOES-West satellite data. The image was taken on Jan. 15 at 1200 UTC (7 a.m. EST) and showed the elongated former tropical cyclone just north of the Equator.

At 10 a.m. EST (1500 UTC) Pali's remnants were dissipating near the Equator far southwest of Hawaii. Maximum sustained winds were near 30 mph (45 kph) and weakening. Vertical wind shear of about 30 knots (34.5 mph/55.5 kph) continued to blow over the area which helped elongate the former tropical depression. NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center noted "microwave satellite data showed the circulation associated with Pali had become highly disrupted and elongated...and it is no longer possible to definitively locate a closed center."

At that time Pali's remnants were about 1,700 miles (2,735 km) southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii and about 1,065 miles (1,715 km) south-southwest of Johnston Island, near latitude 1.7 north and longitude 173.2 west. Pali's remnants were moving toward the southwest near 3 mph (6 kph).

The remnants of Pali are expected to continue tracking slowly southwest for the next couple of days.

###

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.