Key: Meeting M      Journal J      Funder F

Showing releases 51-65 out of 65.

<< < 1 | 2 | 3

Public Release: 15-Aug-2016
Tel Aviv University researcher awarded 2016 MetLife Foundation prize
Tel Aviv University's Dr. Inna Slutsky won the 2016 MetLife Foundation Promising Investigator Award in Medical Research for Alzheimer's Disease. She is the first Israeli researcher to do so.

Contact: George Hunka
American Friends of Tel Aviv University

Public Release: 10-Aug-2016
'For distinguished service to the profession'
UCSB professor Linda Petzold receives recognition from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Contact: Sonia Fernandez
University of California - Santa Barbara

Public Release: 10-Aug-2016
NYU's LeDoux wins William James Award from the American Psychological Association
New York University Professor Joseph LeDoux has won the William James Award, an annual book prize given by Division One of the American Psychological Association, for his work 'Anxious: Using the Brain to Understand and Treat Fear and Anxiety.'

Contact: James Devitt
New York University

Public Release: 10-Aug-2016
2nd International Brain Stimulation Conference
Dr. Anthony T. Barker wins first International Brain Stimulation Award
Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services, today announced that Dr. Anthony T. Barker is the inaugural recipient of the International Brain Stimulation Award. Dr. Barker is receiving this award for his pioneering work in developing transcranial magnetic stimulation, a noninvasive and pain-free method of stimulating specific brain areas.

Contact: Richard Hart

Public Release: 9-Aug-2016
Army medicine opens the door for vision prosthetic prototypes
'When the eye and optic nerve are severely damaged, the hope of a cortical visual prosthetic is that by directly stimulating the brain's visual cortex, it can restore sight,' said Dr. Kenneth Bertram, Principal Assistant for Acquisition, USAMRMC. 'We are very pleased that the initial funding brings us three different approaches to the development of visual prostheses.'
Department of Defense, Clinical and Rehabilitative Medicine Research Program

Contact: Gail Whitehead
US Department of Defense Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs

Public Release: 8-Aug-2016
2016 ICTP Dirac medallists announced
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has awarded its 2016 Dirac Medal and Prize to Nathan Seiberg (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton), Mikhail Shifman (University of Minnesota) and Arkady Vainshtein (University of Minnesota) for their important contributions to a better understanding of field theories in the non-perturbative regime and in particular for exact results in supersymmetric field theories.

Contact: Mary Ann Williams
Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics

Public Release: 8-Aug-2016
DFG awards prize for alternative to animal experiments
The German Research Foundation will award the Ursula M. Händel Animal Welfare Prize for the sixth time this year. The prize recognizes important scientific results that contribute to improving the welfare of animals used in research.

Contact: Magdalena Schaeffer
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Public Release: 8-Aug-2016
Winners announced for the BMC Ecology Image Competition 2016
From a striking sunrise in the Kalahari Desert, to a wren's nest built under the saddle of a parked bicycle, and geometric land patterns created by earthworms, this year's BMC Ecology Image Competition includes a fascinating array of ecological open-access images which are free to use.

Contact: Anne Korn
BioMed Central

Public Release: 4-Aug-2016
2016 List of Most Cited Researchers in MSE by Elsevier Scopus Data
UNIST makes mark on global list of most cited
UNIST is well-represented 2016 List of Most Cited Researchers in Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) by Elsevier Scopus Data, which includes only the top 300 of the world's researchers in the field of MSE ranked by the total citations of their papers.

Contact: JooHyeon Heo
Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology(UNIST)

Public Release: 4-Aug-2016
Reaxys Prize Symposium
Ten Reaxys® Ph.D. prize candidates selected to present at symposium in London
Ph.D. prize winners will be announced on Sept. 23.

Contact: Christopher Capot

Public Release: 3-Aug-2016
'Promoting discovery and developing solutions'
UCSB geography professor Dar Roberts is named a fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

Contact: Julie Cohen
University of California - Santa Barbara

Public Release: 3-Aug-2016
22nd annual NIWeek
Massive MIMO, massive win for Bristol student at NI Engineering Impact Awards
A postgraduate student from the University of Bristol is the joint recipient of five separate awards in recognition of their world record achievement in 5G wireless spectrum efficiency using Massive MIMO. The announcement was made at the 22nd annual NIWeek conference in Austin, Texas, USA, at the National Instruments Engineering Impact Awards ceremony last night.

Contact: Joanne Fryer
University of Bristol

Public Release: 3-Aug-2016
A leader in light
UCSB professor and photonics expert John Bowers receives the 2017 IEEE Photonics Award

Contact: Sonia Fernandez
University of California - Santa Barbara

Public Release: 2-Aug-2016
SciX 2016 Conference (September 2016)
International award for Strathclyde chemistry lecturer
A senior lecturer in Chemistry at the University of Strathclyde has won an international award for achievements in his field, including the development of techniques for diagnosing brain tumors.
Brain Tumour North West, Rosemere Cancer Foundation, Sydney Driscoll Neuroscience Foundation

Contact: Corporate Comms
University of Strathclyde

Public Release: 1-Aug-2016
Award supports UTSA professor's efforts to freeze aneurysms and save lives
Ender Finol, associate professor of biomedical engineering at The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA), has been honored with the American Heart Association's Collaborative Sciences Award. The award includes a $750,000 grant to continue his aneurysm research, which involves 'freezing' aortic aneurysms before they burst and cause serious damage.
American Heart Association

Contact: Joanna Carver
University of Texas at San Antonio

Showing releases 51-65 out of 65.

<< < 1 | 2 | 3