News Release

Five health professionals named 2017 National Academy of Medicine Fellows

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has selected five outstanding health professionals for the class of 2017 NAM Fellows.

Grant and Award Announcement

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has selected five outstanding health professionals for the class of 2017 NAM Fellows. They were chosen based on their professional qualifications and accomplishments, reputations as scholars, and relevance of current field expertise to the work of the NAM and the Health and Medicine Division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The fellows will collaborate with eminent researchers, policy experts, and clinicians from across the country during their two-year fellowship. They will help facilitate initiatives convened by the National Academies to provide nonpartisan, evidence-based guidance to national, state, and local policymakers, academic leaders, health care administrators, and the public.

The class of 2017 NAM Fellows is:

    * American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) Fellow
    Mahshid Abir, M.D., M.Sc., assistant professor, department of emergency medicine, University of Michigan; and director, acute care research unit, Institute for Healthcare Policy & Innovation, Ann Arbor, Mich.

    * Gilbert S. Omenn Fellow
    Ellen Eaton, M.D., assistant professor of infectious diseases, department of medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham

    * Greenwall Fellow in Bioethics
    Neal Dickert, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor, division of cardiology, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta

    * James C. Puffer, M.D./American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) Fellow
    Tammy Chang, M.D., M.P.H., M.S., assistant professor, department of family medicine, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

    * Norman F. Gant/American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) Fellow
    Ebony Boyce Carter, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor, department of obstetrics and gynecology, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis

"The NAM Fellowship is designed for health science scholars who are one to 10 years out from completion of a residency or receipt of a doctoral degree to participate hands-on in our process of providing health advice to the nation," said Victor J. Dzau, president of the National Academy of Medicine. "Through this experience, the fellows will be able to build a network of mentors whom the fellows can call upon throughout their careers. They also will study health care challenges across a range of disciplines and viewpoints to develop sound health care strategies and policies."

Each fellow will continue in his or her primary academic post while engaging part time over a two-year period in the National Academies' health and science policy work. Each will work with an expert study committee or roundtable related to his or her professional interests, including contributing to its reports or other products. A flexible research stipend will be awarded to every fellow.

The overall purpose of the NAM Fellowship program is to enable talented, early career health science scholars to participate actively in the work of the Academies and to further their careers as future leaders in the field. For more information, visit

The National Academy of Medicine, established in 1970 as the Institute of Medicine, is an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health and medicine; the natural, social, and behavioral sciences; and beyond. It serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as an adviser to the nation and the international community. Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine, and related policy and inspire positive action across sectors. The NAM collaborates closely with its peer academies and other divisions within the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.



Jennifer Walsh, Director of Media Relations
Andrew Robinson, Media Relations Assistant
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail
Twitter: @theNAMedicine
Facebook: @NAMedicine
Instagram: thenamedicine

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.