News Release

Society for Risk Analysis announces 2018 winners for Best Journal Papers and Best Research Posters

Grant and Award Announcement

Society for Risk Analysis

The Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) is pleased to announce the winners for best papers in Risk Analysis: An International Journal and the best research posters for 2018. The editorial staff of Risk Analysis selected the 2018 Best Paper award winners. These papers made the most significant impacts on the theory or practice of risk analysis. Judges, as well as members of the society via popular vote, selected the poster winners during the conference's annual poster session the evening prior. The awardees include:

Best Papers:

Daniel J. Rozell, Stony Brook University, for The Ethical Foundations of Risk Analysis.

Carolina Plaza Rodriguez, Guido Correia Carreira, Annemarie Kasbohrer, German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment, Germany, for A Probabilistic Transmission Model for the Spread of Extended-Spectrum-β-Lactamase and AmpC- β-Lactamase-Producing Escherichia Coli in the Broiler Production Chain.

Robert D. Jagiello and Thomas T. Hills, University of Warwick, United Kingdom, for Bad News Has Wings: Dread Risk Mediates Social Amplification in Risk Communication.

Theresa A. K. Knoblauch, Michael Stauffacher and Evelina Trutnevyte, ETH Zurich, Switzerland, for Communicating Low-Probability High-Consequence Risk, Uncertainty and Expert Confidence: Induced Seismicity of Deep Geothermal Energy and Shale Gas.

Best Reviewers:

Vivianne Visschers, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland, Switzerland, Christina Demski, Cardiff University, United Kingdom, John Evans, Harvard University, and Angela Bearth, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.

Best Posters:

Kathleen Hibbert, Jennifer Richmond-Bryant, Carol Ann Gross-Davis, Jeannette Reyes, Jonathan Essoka, J. Fry and Annie Jarabek, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, for "Health Concerns in South Philadelphia: A Community-Based Risk Assessment and Analysis of Multiple Exposures in a Historic Urban Setting."

George Warren, King's College London, United Kingdom, for "Climate and Energy Literacy: Preliminary Findings from a U.K. Study"

Tom Jansen, Liesbeth Claassen, Irene van Kamp and Danielle Timmermans, Dutch National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM) and VU Medical Center Amsterdam, Netherlands, for "Perceptions of Uncertain Risks in Social Groups."

Caroline Johnson, University of Stavanger, Roger Flage, University of Stavanger, and Seth Guikema, University of Michigan, for "Characterising the Robustness of Coupled Power-Law Networks."

Sophie Wilson, King's College London, United Kingdom, for "The Use of Top-Down Risk Communication Strategies and Their Effectiveness in the Case of the ASARCO Tacoma Smelter."


About SRA

The Society for Risk Analysis is a multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, scholarly, international society that provides an open forum for all those interested in risk analysis. SRA was established in 1980 and has published Risk Analysis: An International Journal, the leading scholarly journal in the field, continuously since 1981. For more information, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.