News Release

National Academy of Medicine names five Anniversary Fellows for 2015

Peer-Reviewed Publication

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has selected five outstanding health professionals for the class of 2015 NAM Anniversary Fellows. The fellows were chosen based on their professional qualifications, reputations as scholars, professional accomplishments, and relevance of current field expertise to the work of the NAM and the Institute of Medicine, the health and medicine division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The fellows will collaborate with eminent researchers, policy experts, and clinicians from across the country. They will help facilitate initiatives convened by the Academies to provide nonpartisan, evidence-based guidance to national, state, and local policymakers, academic leaders, health care administrators, and the public.

The 2015 NAM Anniversary Fellows are:

  • American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) Fellow: Hanni M. Stoklosa, M.D., M.P.H., clinical instructor, Harvard Medical School; and emergency medicine physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston

  • Gilbert S. Omenn Fellow: James F. Burke, M.D., M.S., assistant professor, department of neurology, University of Michigan Medical School; and staff physician, Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Ann Arbor, Mich.

  • Greenwall Fellow in Bioethics: Brendan K. Saloner, Ph.D., assistant professor, department of health policy and management, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore

  • James C. Puffer, M.D./American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) Fellow: Gerardo Moreno, M.D., M.S.H.S., assistant professor, department of family medicine, University of California, Los Angeles

  • Norman F. Gant/American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) Fellow: Brownsyne M. Tucker Edmonds, M.D., M.P.H., M.S., assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis

Each fellow will continue in his or her primary academic post while engaging part time over a two-year period in the Academies' health and science policy work. Each will work with an expert study committee or roundtable related to his or her professional interests, including contributing to its reports or other products. A flexible research stipend of $25,000 will be awarded to every fellow.

The overall purpose of the NAM Anniversary Fellows Program is to enable talented, early career health and science scholars to participate actively in the work of the Academies and to further their careers as future leaders in the field.


The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine. The Academies operate under an 1863 congressional charter to the National Academy of Sciences, signed by President Lincoln. For more information, visit


Jennifer Walsh, Senior Media Relations Officer

Emily Raschke, Media Relations Assistant

Office of News and Public Information

202-334-2138; e-mail

Twitter: @theNAMedicine and @NASciences

RSS feed:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.