Public Release: 

AAAS Annual Meeting And Science Innovation Exposition

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Annual Meeting Program

The AAAS Annual Meeting showcases the research of more than 800 scientists and engineers in all areas of science and technology, including policy and education. Topics discussed range from advances in medicine to the latest research in astronomy and physics. The meeting will feature scientific findings that encompass a range of disciplines. More than 125 multidisciplinary sessions featuring more than 500 speakers will include research on topics including

  • the influence of diet, estrogen, and pregnancy on breast cancer
  • the biology of postponing aging and death
  • human health risks in the ocean
  • lessons learned from El Niño
  • the future of predicting earthquakes
  • psychoanalytic perspectives on dreaming
  • the fate of the universe
  • keys to the Cosmos
Noteworthy speakers include

  • Author and producer Michael Crichton (Plenary lecture, Monday, January 25, 8 a.m.)
  • California Institute of Technology President David Baltimore (Topical lecture, "Designing an AIDS Vaccine," Friday, January 22, 1:30 p.m.)
  • Former U.S. Food and Drug Administrator Frank E. Young (Genome Seminar, "Biological Warfare and Bio-Terrorism," Saturday, January 23, 2:30 p.m.)
  • Owen Gingerich, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (Topical lecture, "Why is the Day 24 Hours, and When Will the Millennium Begin?" Saturday, January 23, 8 a.m.)
A special seminar, "Powerful Forces in Small Packages - Harnessing the Microbial Genome," will be held on Saturday and Sunday, January 23-24. This session, organized by Craig Venter, will examine infectious disease, virology, biological warfare agents and response, DNA and vaccines, gene shuffling, comparative genetics, virulence, cholera and global change, Lyme disease, cell to cell communication, genome engineering, microorganisms in biogeochemical cycling, new antibiotic development, microbial pathogenesis and pathogen discovery, and national policy.

For the complete online program, click here.

Newsroom Registration

To register in the newsroom, go to the onsite newsroom headquarters in the Anaheim Hilton, Fourth Floor, Room Laguna B, starting on January 21. Be sure to bring proper credentials.

Credentials for Newsroom Registration

Registration fees will be waived for working reporters, public information officers, journalism professors and their students, and members of the National Association of Science Writers, the Canadian Science Writers Association, the International Science Writers Association, and the Society of Environmental Journalists. Proof of credentials will be required upon registration.

Reporters - Proper credentials are required to receive a press pass in the AAAS newsroom headquarters. These credentials include: a recognized press card, a current National Association of Science Writers (NASW), Canadian Science Writers Association (CSWA), International Science Writers Association (ISWA), or Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ) membership card, a business card clearly showing media affiliation and position (such as editor, writer, producer, reporter, etc.), or a letter on official letterhead from an editor of a publication or a producer of a program certifying that you are covering the conference for their respective organization. (Please note that freelance journalists will need to present such a letter, unless they can show proof of membership in NASW, CSWA, ISWA, or SEJ). Spouses and other guests of journalists cannot register as press and must pay the regular registration fee.

Journalism professors and journalism students - Journalism students and their professors are welcome to register through the newsroom. Proper identification is required at time of registration. Students must present a letter on official letterhead from their journalism professor certifying that they are attending the conference as part of a class activity.

Public Information Officers - Proper credentials include a current National Association of Science Writers or International Science Writers Association membership card or a business card clearly showing position (communications officer, editor, writer, public affairs director, public information specialist, etc.) . Ad sales representatives, publishers, and others must register through the AAAS Meetings Office and pay the registration fee.

Hotel Information

Important note: When making your travel itineraries, please note that the only session scheduled for Tuesday, January 26 is the Forum for School Science. The last news briefing will be held on Monday, January 25.

The official conference hotels for the 1999 meeting are the Anaheim Hilton and the Anaheim Marriott. The newsroom operation will be housed at the Hilton, which is directly across the street from the Marriott. The workshops sponsored by the National Association of Science Writers (NASW) will be held on Thursday, January 21 at the Marriott.
Go to hotel registration.

Newsroom Hours

The newsroom operation will be located on the fourth floor of the Anaheim Hilton Hotel. It will include news briefings, a workroom equipped with Internet access and computers, and private interview rooms. Newsroom registration will open on Thursday, January 21, at 8 a.m. The hours of operation are as follows:

Thursday, January 21: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Friday, January 22: 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Saturday, January 23: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, January 24: 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Monday, January 25: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Tuesday, January 26: 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

News Briefings

The AAAS News and Information Office organizes over 25 news briefings during the Annual Meeting. A full schedule of briefings will be available on this site in early January.

Special Events

  • Welcome reception for newsroom registrants, Friday, January 22. Sponsored by the AAAS Office of News and Information.
  • The NASW business meeting will convene at 4 p.m. on Saturday, January 23 in the Palos Verdes Room at the Hilton.
  • The NASW annual dinner is scheduled for Saturday, January 23 at the Pacific Science Discovery Center. You must purchase tickets in advance by contacting Diane McGurgan at 516-757-5664 (phone), 516-757-0069 (fax), or The winners of the 1998 AAAS Science Journalism Awards, sponsored by the Whitaker Foundation, will be honored at the dinner and at a special reception preceding the dinner.
  • The International Science Writers Association will convene its annual business meeting at 4:00 p.m. on Sunday, January 24 in the Palos Verdes Room at the Hilton. For more information, contact Jim Cornell at 617-495-7461.
  • NASW is planning a party for members on Sunday, January 24.
Future Annual Meetings

2000 Washington, DC; 17-22 February
Washington Marriott Wardman Park, Omni Shoreham

2001 San Francisco; 15-20 February
San Francisco Hilton / Hotel Nikko

2002 Boston; 14-19 February
Hynes Convention Center / Sheraton Boston / Marriott Copley Place

2003 Denver; 13-18 February 2003
Colorado Convention Center / Adams Mark Denver


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.