Public Release: 

1999-2000 Weizmann Women & Science Award

American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science

The American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science will present its 2000 Biennial Women & Science Award. Established in 1994, the Award was created to honor an outstanding woman who has made significant contributions to the scientific community. The objectives of the Award, which includes a $25,000 research grant to the recipient, are to recognize distinguished achievement and to provide a strong role model to motivate and encourage the next generation of young women scientists, engineers and mathematicians.

Nominees may represent any discipline in the natural sciences, and may be conducting research in either the public or private sector.

To request a nomination application, please call Liz Jaffe, Director of National Programs, American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science, 212-895-7907. The nomination application must include background documentation, i.e. curriculum vitae, as well as a supporting statement by the nominator. Nominations must be postmarked by January 31, 2000 and sent to Women and Science Award, ACWIS 130 E. 59th Street, New York, NY 10022, or by fax to 212-895-7993 or by email: LIZ@ACWIS.ORG.

Past recipients of the award are:

1994 - Dr. Joan Argetsinger Steitz, Henry Ford II Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry at Yale University; Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

1996 - Dr. Vera Rubin, Observational Astronomer, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution, Washington, D.C.

1998 - Dr. Jacqueline K. Barton, The Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California.


The Award presentation will take place in June, 2000.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.