Public Release: 

Women chemists plan 75th anniversary events at Boston meeting

American Chemical Society

BOSTON, Aug. 18 -- The American Chemical Society will pay special tribute to women chemists when it convenes in Boston, Aug. 18-22, for its 224th national meeting.

The Society's Women Chemists Committee, celebrating its 75th anniversary, plans several events in keeping with ACS President Eli Pearce's theme for the year, "Diversity in the 21st Century." The WCC recognizes women chemists and their contributions to the profession.

On Sunday, Aug. 18, the WCC presents the "Celebrating Women in Analytical Chemistry" symposium. Previous symposiums of this type have recognized women in organic and inorganic chemistry. The symposium will be held from 8:30 a.m.-noon in the Sheraton Boston Hotel, Grand Ballroom.

Also on Sunday, Aug. 18, ACS President Eli Pearce will introduce "Diversity in the 21st Century: Factors for Success." Other speakers include Rita R. Colwell, National Science Foundation; Richard M. Gross, Dow Chemical Company; Ellen J. Kullman, DuPont Safety Protection; Leonard E. Small, Procter & Gamble Company; and Lura J. Powell, head of Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. The event will be held from 3-6 p.m. in the Hynes Convention Center, room 202.

Monday, Aug. 19, brings the "Women at the Forefront of Chemistry" presidential symposium. Twelve women chemists, one of whom is profiled each month this year in Chemical & Engineering News, will be recognized for research in a variety of fields, including polymer chemistry, electronic materials and chemical biology. The event will be held from 8:30 a.m.-noon and from 1:30-4:30 p.m. in the Hynes Convention Center, room 208.

Tuesday, Aug. 20, at noon, the Women Chemists Committee will host a luncheon in the Marriott Copley Place Hotel, Salon F. ACS President-elect Elsa Reichmanis will speak and the Overcoming Challenges Award will be presented. The award honors an undergraduate woman who has overcome hardships in order to achieve success in chemistry. The 2002 recipient, Chynthia J. Ignaszewski of Lawton, Okla., received her bachelor's degree in chemistry from Cameron University, Lawton, Okla., after a 12-year struggle.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.