Public Release: 

World's largest scientific society honors U.S. Representative David Price

American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society is honoring Rep. David Price (D-NC) with its distinguished Public Service Award for his contributions to the advancement and development of chemistry and science through public policy.

"Rep. Price understands the exciting promise that science holds. He has examined the issues that will have the greatest impact on our future, and knows that science is the solution to many of our present-day challenges. He has worked to ensure that science is included in the art of governing," said Dr. Eli Pearce, president of the American Chemical Society, the world's largest scientific society. Pearce will present the award to Price at a reception on Wednesday, September 25.

A strong advocate for science and technology, Price has used his position on the House Appropriations and Budget committees to help advance these causes. He has worked to increase research funding at the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, the Environmental Protection Agency and NASA.

A former educator, Price has worked to strengthen science and math education. He sponsored legislation that created NSF's Advanced Technological Education program to improve technology education at undergraduate and secondary schools and to encourage cooperation between 2- and 4-year colleges in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Price's leadership has been key in educating his colleagues about the important role science plays in protecting the environment. He was a lead sponsor of legislation that would provide tax incentives to dry cleaners to use green technologies.

The American Chemical Society Public Service Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1996 to recognize non-members who have made outstanding contributions to the development of public policy that benefits chemistry and the sciences. Rep. Jerry Lewis (R-CA) also received the 2002 award.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.