Public Release: 

Energy Department-funded projects win 35 R&D awards

DOE/US Department of Energy

Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham today announced that researchers at Department of Energy (DOE) laboratories and companies with research funded by DOE have won 35 of the 100 awards given this year by R&D Magazine for the most outstanding technology developments with commercial potential. Examples of their work include: a carbon-based coating harder and slicker than Teflon; a miniature, infrared camera that can be used for night vision and medical imaging and to help firefighters see through smoke; a handheld tool that uses ultrasound pulses to assay the contents of sealed containers; and an adaptive optics system that combines technologies from astronomy and micromachining to advance the study and treatment of retinal diseases.

"The range of these cutting-edge technologies demonstrates the breadth of expertise at our national laboratories," Abraham said. "The accomplishments of these innovative researchers will benefit our entire Nation."

The DOE researchers winning the 2003 R&D 100 Awards work in 11 of the department's laboratories across the country. Eighteen of the awards are shared with businesses and universities. Two of the awards are for research at companies funded by DOE. Descriptions of the technologies are available on the department's Office of Science web site at

An independent panel of some 60 experts and editors of R&D Magazine selected the winning technologies. The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Chicago in October. The complete list of 2003 R&D 100 Awards can be found on the R&D Magazine web site at

The DOE laboratories receiving 2003 R&D 100 Awards are:

Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Ill.;
Idaho National Engineering and Environmental Laboratory, Idaho Falls, Idaho;
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif.;
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, Calif.;
Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, N.M.;
National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colo.;
National Energy Technology Laboratory, Pittsburgh, Pa. and Morgantown, W.Va.;
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.;
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Wash.;
Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, N.M and Livermore, Calif.; and
Savannah River Technology Center, Aiken, S.C.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.