Public Release: 

Members receive distinction as fellows of agronomy society

30 individuals recognized during the American Society of Agronomy Annual Meetings

American Society of Agronomy

MADISON, WI, NOV. 13, 2003 - Thirty members of the American Society of Agronomy (ASA) have received the honor of Fellows of the American Society of Agronomy. The prestigious awards were presented at the 2003 Annual Meetings of ASA, held in conjunction with the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) from Nov. 2-6, in Denver, CO. Named as Fellows are:

  • Nicholas T. Basta, Professor, Soil and Environmental Chemistry, The Ohio State University.
  • John P. Beasley, Professor and Extension Peanut Agronomist, University of Georgia.
  • Mark A. Brick, Professor, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences, Colorado State University.
  • Roy G. Cantrell, Vice President, Agricultural Research Division of Cotton Inc., Cary, NC.
  • John L. Cisar, Professor, Turfgrass Management and Water, University of Florida, Ft. Lauderdale, FL.
  • Peter H. Dernoeden, Research and Extension Turfgrass Specialist, University of Maryland.
  • Steven R. Evett, Soil Scientist and Lead Scientist, USDA-ARS Soil and Water Management Research Unit, Bushland, TX.
  • Paul Gepts, Professor, Agronomy, University of California, Davis.
  • Jay M. Ham, Professor, Environmental Physics, Kansas State University.
  • James L. Heilman, Professor, Environmental Physics, Texas A&M University.
  • Nicholas S. Hill, Professor, Crop and Soil Sciences, University of Georgia.
  • Robert L. Hill, Professor, Soil Physics, University of Maryland.
  • Bingru Huang, Associate Professor, Department of Plant Biology and Pathology, Rutgers University.
  • Frederic L. Kolb, Professor, Plant Breeding, the University of Illinois.
  • Robert J. Kremer, Microbiologist, USDA-ARS Cropping Systems and Water Quality Research Unit, Columbia, MO.
  • Linda S. Lee, Professor, Environmental Chemistry, Purdue University.
  • Jerrell L. Lemunyon, Nutrient and Pest Management Specialist, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Fort Worth, TX.
  • Gregory L. Mullins, Professor and Nutrient Management Specialist, Virginia Tech.
  • Yakov A. Pachepsky, Soil Scientist, USDA-ARS Environmental Microbial Safety Laboratory, Beltsville, MD.
  • Todd W. Pfeiffer, Professor, University of Kentucky.
  • Klaus Reichardt, Professor, Center for Nuclear Energy in Agriculture (CENA), University of São Paulo, Piracicaba, Brazil,
  • Ravi P. Singh, Principal Scientist, Wheat Program, International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), Mexico.
  • Shree P. Singh, Professor, Plant Breeding and Genetics, University of Idaho.
  • Mark E. Sorrells, Professor, Plant Breeding, Cornell University.
  • Jeffrey J. Steiner, Research Agronomist, USDA-ARS, National Forage Seed Production Research Center, Corvallis, OR.
  • Scott W. Tyler, Professor, Hydrology, University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) and Director, UNR Graduate Program of Hydrologic Sciences.
  • Tony J. Vyn, Professor, Cropping Systems Agronomist, Purdue University.
  • Richard R.-C. Wang, Research Geneticist, USDA-ARS Forage and Range Research Laboratory, Logan, Utah.
  • Clarence E. Watson, Jr., Associate Director, Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station, Mississippi State University.
  • Raymond R. Weil, Professor of Soil Science at the University of Maryland.

The Society has been selecting outstanding members to the position of Fellow since 1924. Colleagues within the Society nominate worthy members and the ASA Committee on the Nomination of Fellows carefully rank the nominees with final election made by the ASA Executive Committee. The Society has chosen 30 individuals, based on their professional achievements and meritorious service, to receive this honor in 2003.

The American Society of Agronomy (ASA), the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) and the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) are educational organizations helping their 11,000+ members advance the disciplines and practices of agronomy, crop and soil sciences by supporting professional growth and science policy initiatives, and by providing quality, research-based publications and a variety of member services.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.