Public Release: 

Members receive distinction as fellows of soil society

Fourteen individuals recognized during the Soil Science Society of America Annual Meeting

American Society of Agronomy

MADISON, WI, NOV. 13, 2003 - Fourteen members have received the honor of Fellow of the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA). The prestigious awards were presented at the 2003 Annual Meetings of CSSA, held in conjunction with the American Society of Agronomy (ASA) and the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) from Nov. 2-6, in Denver, CO. Named as Fellows are:

  • Thomas A. Doerge, Agronomy Research Manager, Global Agronomy and Nutritional Sciences, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Int'l, Des Moines, IA.
  • John G. Graveel, Professor, Environmental Soil Science, Purdue University.
  • Wayne H. Hudnall, Professor, Soil Science, Louisiana State University Agriculture Center
  • Eileen J. Kladivko, Professor, Department of Agronomy, Purdue University.
  • Gerard J. Kluitenberg, Professor of Soil and Environmental Physics and Graduate Coordinator, Kansas State University.
  • Lena Q. Ma, Professor, Soil and Water Science Department, University of Florida.
  • Kevin J. McInnes, Professor of Environmental Physics, Texas A&M University.
  • Yakov A. Pachepsky, Soil Scientist, USDA-ARS Environmental Microbial Safety Laboratory, Beltsville, MD.
  • Klaus Reichardt, Professor, Center for Nuclear Energy in Agriculture (CENA), University of São Paulo, Piracicaba, Brazil.
  • Pierre C. Robert, Professor and Extension Soil Scientist, and Director of the Precision Agriculture, University of Minnesota.
  • G. Philip Robertson, professor, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, Michigan State University.
  • Randall J. Southard, Professor of Soil Science and Soil Scientist, California Agricultural Experiment Station, University of California, Davis.
  • Scott W. Tyler, professor of Hydrology, University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) and Director of UNR's Graduate Program of Hydrologic Sciences.
  • Raymond R. Weil, Professor of Soil Science at the University of Maryland.

SSSA has been selecting outstanding members to the position of Fellow since 1976. Colleagues within the Societies nominate worthy members and the Committee on the Nomination of Fellows carefully rank the nominees with final election made by the Executive Committees. SSSA has chosen 14 individuals, based on their professional achievements and meritorious service, to receive this honor in 2003.


The American Society of Agronomy (ASA), the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) and the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) are educational organizations helping their 11,000+ members advance the disciplines and practices of agronomy, crop and soil sciences by supporting professional growth and science policy initiatives, and by providing quality, research-based publications and a variety of member services.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.