Public Release: 

Southwestern Medical Foundation honors Farrington, Goldman with community service award

UT Southwestern Medical Center

DALLAS - Nov. 14, 2003 - Southwestern Medical Foundation honored civic leaders Jerry Farrington and F.B. Pete Goldman with the 2003 Charles Cameron Sprague Community Service Award at the foundation's annual dinner last night at the Wyndham Anatole Hotel.

The Community Service Award was created in 1991 to honor individuals who have provided significant support to the improvement of medical education, medical research and patient care. In 1996 the award was renamed for Dr. Charles Cameron Sprague, president emeritus of UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas and chairman emeritus of the foundation.

Jerry Farrington
As chairman emeritus and former chairman, chief executive officer and president of TXU, Jerry Farrington knows a lot about business. He also knows quite a bit about giving, which has earned him a reputation as one of Dallas' most admired community advocates.

Recently appointed by Gov. Rick Perry as the new chair of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (on which he has served since 2001), Mr. Farrington has devoted much of his life to promoting education. His commitment to the cause has made him a leader in the coordinating board's College for All Texan's campaign, which aids at-risk students.

Mr. Farrington, who holds a bachelor of business, a master of business administration and an honorary doctorate of public service from the University of North Texas, was chairman of UNT's Board of Regents, on which he served from 1988 to 1999.

He has been a Southwestern Medical Foundation trustee since 1987 and is the immediate past chairman of the board of Texas Health Resources. He is the former chair of Presbyterian Healthcare Resources and continues to serve on that board. A native Texan, he also is a director of the Hoblitzelle Foundation, Children's Medical Foundation, Circle Ten Council of the Boy Scouts of America and the State Fair of Texas.

He and his wife, Linda, live in Dallas and are members of Lovers Lane United Methodist Church.

"This award is a special highlight of my life. I have known Charlie Sprague for many years, and anything that carries his name is at the top of my list," said Mr. Farrington. "I would never imagine myself in the same league as those who have been honored in past years, so I don't have words to express how much it means to me. I am deeply honored."

F.B. Pete Goldman
A successful entrepreneur, savvy business executive and former mayor of the city of University Park, F.B. Pete Goldman credits his first job - throwing newspapers - with teaching him the importance of hard work and punctuality.

Today, at 82, Mr. Goldman possesses an impressive resume of business accomplishments and community involvement, including serving as a trustee of Southwestern Medical Foundation since 1972 and on its executive committee since 1987. He also is chair of the Gaston Episcopal Hospital Foundation and serves on the boards of the Episcopal Foundation of the Diocese of Dallas, the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children's Tartan Golf Classic and Presbyterian Healthcare Resources.

A graduate of UT Austin, Mr. Goldman began his career at Pollock Paper Corp. in 1943 and then joined Susan Crane Packaging as a salesman nine years later. He eventually became president of the company. In 1970 he resigned to form Transland Management Corp., a real estate and property management firm. He retired in 1988 but continues to serve as chairman and president of real estate management firms St. John's Associates, St. John's Investments and St. John's Properties.

Mr. Goldman, who lives in Dallas with his wife, Jo, also has held various positions with the Salesmanship Club of Dallas, the Dallas Citizens Council, UT Austin, UT Dallas, the Dallas Chamber of Commerce, Goodwill Industries of Dallas, the United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, Gaston Episcopal Hospital, Dallas Historical Society, the Metropolitan and Park Cities YMCAs, Lighthouse for the Blind, the Suicide Prevention Center, Dallas County Community College Foundation, the All Sports Association and the Southwest Football Officials Association.

"I worked hard. My family always came first, and my business was my next main endeavor, especially when I was younger. But, once I had the time and the resources, I started getting involved in public service - which has been a great pleasure to me," said Mr. Goldman. "I have been in a unique position to watch the growth of Dallas - which I think may be the best big city in the country - and I receive a tremendous sense of satisfaction from being part of its ongoing changes."

More than 60 years ago, a group of private citizens and philanthropists established Southwestern Medical Foundation with the goal of improving medical education and health care in Dallas. The foundation created Southwestern Medical College, which became a part of the UT System in 1949. Since then, the foundation has supported medical research and education at the institution, which became UT Southwestern, through numerous endowments and grant programs.

Past Community Service Award recipients are Ruth C. Altshuler, James W. Aston, Paul M. Bass, Julia T. and Louis A. Beecherl Jr., H.R. "Bum" Bright, Nancy G. Brinker, Rita C. and William P. Clements Jr., Joe M. Dealey, Earl A. Forsythe, Cecil H. Green, Nancy B. Hamon, Jess Hay, Adelyn and Edmund Hoffman, Erik Jonsson, George L. MacGregor, Margaret M. McDermott, Edith and Peter O'Donnell Jr., Margot and Ross Perot, Caren and Vin Prothro, Ralph B. Rogers, Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay, Annette and Harold C. Simmons, Jean and Dr. Bob Smith, Dr. Charles Cameron Sprague, Jean and Tom Walter, and Donald Zale.


To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail, subscribe at

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.