Public Release: 

The cogs that move the science policy wheel

AAAS fellowships - Building a community of science policy specialists

American Association for the Advancement of Science

WASHINGTON, DC - On 13 - 14 May 2004, AAAS, the science society, celebrates the 30th anniversary of the Science and Technology Policy Fellowship Program - a program that provides the US Congress with the technical expertise that underlies so much current legislation. Former fellows, fellows and representatives of the Washington, D.C. policy community will gather at the Carnegie Institution of Washington to mark the past, present and future of science policy in America.

The AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellows program now has 1565 alumni--accomplished scientists and engineers who competed fiercely for the chance to spend a year working for Congress or, more recently, for one of the federal agencies scattered throughout the nation's capital. The Fellows serve for one year in their post and bring good science to bear on policy decisions.

Speakers include:

    R. Alta Charo, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development and Professor of Law and Medical Ethics, School of Law and Medicine, University of Wisconsin (Former Fellow)
    Ismail Serageldin, Director, The Library of Alexandria, Egypt
    Maureen I. McCarthy, Director, Office of Research and Development Science and Technology Directorate, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
    Mohamed T. El-Ashry, Former CEO and Chairman, The Global Environment Facility
    The Honorable Rush Holt (D-NJ) (Former Fellow)

Speakers are available for advance interviews. Please contact Monica Amarelo at 202-326-6431,

For more information on the AAAS Science and Policy Fellowship Programs, please visit

WHAT: 30th Anniversary of the AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellowship Program

WHEN: Thursday, 13 May 2004, 1:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Friday, 14 May 2004, 8:45 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

WHERE: Carnegie Institution of Washington 1530 P Street, NW Washington, DC 20005

HOST: AAAS, the science society (The American Association for the Advancement of Science)

RSVP: Reporters should RSVP to Monica Amarelo at 202-326-6431, or Carol Hoy at 212-724-2282, by Wednesday, 12 May.

MEDIA NOTE: Seating will be on a first-come, first-served basis. Please contact Monica Amarelo to RSVP at 202-326-6431,


AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society, dedicated to "Advancing science · Serving society."

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.