Public Release: 

Tim Appenzeller and Jeffrey Kluger win AGU journalism awards

American Geophysical Union

WASHINGTON - Tim Appenzeller of National Geographic magazine and Jeffrey Kluger of Time magazine have won the American Geophysical Union's 2005 science journalism awards. Appenzeller will receive the Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism--Features for his article, "The Case of the Missing Carbon," which appeared in National Geographic's February 2004 issue. Kluger will receive the David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism--News for "Secrets of the Rings," from Time's July 12, 2004 issue.

Members of the Sullivan Award selection committee wrote, with regard to Appenzeller's article, that it was "clearly and intelligently written, drawing the reader into the story without unnecessary jargon. The carbon cycle is an important topic for the public to be aware of, and this article presented a wide breadth of material in a balanced manner, clearly differentiating between opinion and fact. While many authors have written about the general topic of global warming, Appenzeller's article boldly and clearly deals with the processes driving it. 'The Case of the Missing Carbon' is an excellent example of science writing that is clearly written, extensively documented, very informative, and fun to read."

Appenzeller's Sullivan Award winning article may be read at

The Perlman Award selection committee said Kluger's article,'Secrets of the Rings,' is a vivid and scientifically accurate account of the initial Cassini encounter with Saturn. It communicates the scientific discoveries and the intrigue of the encounter and provides an excellent account of the evolution of the scientific process, in which discovery is almost always accompanied by new, exciting questions. The article also introduces the public to some of the emerging issues confronting space science today, including the debate over manned vs. robotic missions and the collaborative scientific teaming with international partners in a time of limited budgets and strained relations with other nations."

The two AGU journalism awards will be presented on May 25, during Honors Evening at the AGU-NABS-SEG-SPD/AAS Joint Assembly in New Orleans, Louisiana. The annual Sullivan and Perlman Awards are named for Walter Sullivan, late science editor of The New York Times, and David Perlman, science editor of the San Francisco Chronicle, respectively. The awards consist of a plaque and a $2,000 stipend.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.