Public Release: 

Presidential Recognition Awards presented at the 2005 AIUM Annual Convention

American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine

LAUREL, MD-Lewis Nelson, III, MD, RDMS, immediate past president of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM), announced the winners of the 2005 Presidential Recognition Award during the Board of Governors banquet at the 2005 AIUM Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida.

Jon Meilstrup, MD, and Mel Stratmeyer, PhD, were selected as this year's recipients of the Presidential Recognition Award. "They were selected because of their intense participation in activities of AIUM, their willingness to manage important committees, and their great teaching in AIUM courses," said Dr. Nelson.

Dr. Meilstrup is currently affiliated with the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center in Hershey, Pennsylvania. He is also serves as chair of the AIUM's Clinical Standards Committee and the Abdomen Section.

Dr. Stratmeyer is currently deputy director in the Division of Biology of the Food and Drug Administration in Rockville, Maryland. He is also a member of the Bioeffects Committee and the Bioeffects Consensus Conference Planning Committee.

In addition, the entire AIUM staff was awarded with a surprise Presidential Recognition Award "for outstanding contributions and service to the expanding future of ultrasound in medicine."

Congratulations to Dr. Meilstrup, Dr. Stratmeyer, and the entire AIUM staff on receiving this prestigious award!


The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine is a multidisciplinary association dedicated to advancing the safe and effective use of ultrasound in medicine through professional and public education, research, development of guidelines, and accreditation.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.