Public Release: 

Eighth annual NYU Child Study Center child advocacy award dinner

Honors Autism Speaks Co-Founders Suzanne and Bob Wright with film debut by director Nathaniel Kahn

New York University Child Study Center

On Tuesday, November 29, 2005, The NYU Child Study Center will host its eighth annual award dinner at Cipriani 42nd Street. Chaired by Lori and George Hall, this year's dinner will celebrate the remarkable advances researchers from the Child Study Center have made in the field of mental health. The dinner honorees are Bob Wright, chairman and chief executive officer of NBC Universal and Suzanne Wright, co-founders of Autism Speaks. A short film presentation produced exclusively for the Child Study Center by Nathaniel Kahn, Oscar-nominated director of My Architect, will be screened. Past honorees include Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg; Governor George E. Pataki; Whoopi Goldberg; Rudolph Guiliani, and Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton.

At this year's dinner, guests will include NYU Child Study Center Board members Brooke and Daniel Neidich; Alice and Thomas Tisch; The Honorable Jon S. Corzine; Cathy and Stephen Graham; Arthur Carter, publisher, The New York Observer, and Linda Carter, Ph.D.; Michael Fascitelli, president, Vornado Realty Trust, and Elizabeth Cogan Fascitelli; Klara and Larry Silverstein; Jill and Robert C. Smith; Ellen and Howard Katz; Thomas H. Lee, founder and president, Thomas H. Lee Company, and Ann Tenenbaum; Bruce Wasserstein, Lazard & Co., and Claude Wasserstein. Other guests include Martin Lipton, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, and Susan Lipton; Dr. Ruth Westheimer; Dr. Gail Saltz;; Erica Jong and Kenneth Burrows; Heather and Steven Mnuchin; Jon Mechanic, Esq.; Anne Keating, senior vice president, Public Relations, Bloomingdale's; Daryl and Steven Roth; Douglas E. Schoen, Penn, Schoen & Berland; Samuel Heyman, chairman, GAF Corp, and Ronnie Heyman.

The dinner's corporate sponsor is Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc. Supporters of this year's dinner include Beth Rudin Dewoody; Millard Drexler, chairman and chief executive officer, J. Crew & Co; Michael Gould, chairman and chief executive officer, Bloomingdale's; Dr. Sally Peterson; Laura and Robert Sillerman; and Katherine and Jerry Speyer, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Tishman Speyer.


The event is sold out, therefore, members of the press are invited to attend the cocktail reception only.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.