Public Release: 

American Physiological Society honors 16 scientists with awards/distinguished lectureships

APS awards to Jo Rae Wright of Duke the Walter B. Cannon Award for lifetime achievement. Ulrich H. Von Andrian of Harvard receives the Henry Pickering Bowditch Award for outstanding young investigator.

American Physiological Society

Sixteen scientists singled out for their exemplary research by the American Physiological Society (APS) will receive awards and highlight their work in lectures to the Experimental Biology 2006 conference April 1-5 in San Francisco.

The awards include the Society's two highest: The Walter B. Cannon Award for lifetime achievement, to Jo Rae Wright of Duke University Medical Center, and the Henry Pickering Bowditch Award to Ulrich Hans Von Andrian for early-career achievement.

Editor's Note: APS welcomes members of the press to cover these distinguished researchers as well as presentations by leading physiologists at the 100 workshops and symposia -- and thousands of individual presentations -- on the latest physiological research. For the full program at the Moscone Convention Center, go to

The APS award winners, the subjects of their lectures, and the dates of presentation are as follows:

Award Lectures
Jo Rae Wright - Duke University Medical Center
Physiology in Perspective: The Walter B. Cannon Award Lecture
APS gives this award for lifetime achievement to an outstanding physiological scientist.
Lecture: "The Wisdom of Lung Surfactant: Balancing Host Defense and Surface Tension Reducing Functions." Saturday, April 1, 5:45 p.m.

Ulrich Hans Von Andrian - Harvard Medical School
Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lecture
The Society presents this award to a scientist younger than 42 years of age whose accomplishments are both original and outstanding.
Lecture: "Migrants on a Single-minded Mission: How T-Cells Find Their Antigen." Sunday, April 2, 5:45 p.m.

Randall S. Prather - National Swine Research and Resource Center, University of Missouri-Columbia
Walter C. Randall Lecturer in Biomedical Ethics
This award promotes integrity in science, particularly to students in training, and fosters the highest ethical standards in biomedical research, publication, teaching, and interaction with the public.
Lecture: "Transgenic Animals for Medicine and Agriculture: Do the Ends Justify the Means?" Tuesday, April 4, 2 p.m.

Award Talk and Reception
L. Gabriel Navar - Tulane University School of Medicine
The Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award
This APS award goes to a scientist who combines excellent research with dedication to training and guiding young physiologists.
Talk: "From Mentee to Mentor: Lessons Learned Along the Way." Monday, April 3, noon.

Distinguished Lectureships
These awards are given to scientists who have done noteworthy work within one of 12 physiological disciplines represented by APS sections.

Thomas Coffman - Duke University Medical Center
Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lectureship
APS Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section
Lecture: "The Critical Role of the Kidney in Hypertension: Implications for Pathogenesis and Therapy." Sunday, April 2, 8 a.m.

Gunnar Wallin - University of Göteborg
Carl Ludwig Distinguished Lectureship
APS Neural Control and Autonomic Regulation Section
Lecture: "Interindividual Differences in Sympathetic Activity: A Key to new Insight into Cardiovascular Regulation?" Sunday, April 2, 10:30 a.m.

Kim Barrett - University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine
Horace W. Davenport Distinguished Lectureship
APS Gastrointestinal & Liver Section
Lecture: "Friends and Foes: The Physiology of Gut Epithelial Interactions with Luminal Bacteria." Sunday, April 2, 2 p.m.

Dee Silverthorn - University of Texas
Claude Bernard Distinguished Lectureship
APS Teaching of Physiology Section
Lecture: "Teaching and Learning in the Interactive Classroom." Sunday, April 2, 2 p.m.

Peter Igarashi - University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Carl W. Gottschalk Distinguished Lectureship
APS Renal Section
Lecture: "Transcriptional Mechanisms of Renal Cystogenesis." Sunday, April 2, 3:15 p.m.

Michael J. Welsh - University of Iowa
Hugh Davson Distinguished Lectureship
APS Cell and Molecular Physiology Section
Lecture: "Pursuing Cystic Fibrosis." Monday, April 3, 9 a.m.

Thomas Hintze - New York Medical College
Robert M. Berne Distinguished Lectureship
APS Cardiovascular Section
Lecture: "The Other Action of NO: Control of Cardiac Mitochondrial Oxygen Consumption and Substrate Use in Health and in Disease." Monday, April 3, 10:30 a.m.

Paul Sawchenko - The Salk Institute
Joseph Erlanger Distinguished Lectureship
APS Central Nervous System Section
Lecture: "Circuits and Mechanisms Providing for Adaptive Responses to Stress." Monday, April 3, 2 p.m.

Frank W. Booth - University of Missouri
Edward F. Adolph Distinguished Lectureship
APS Environmental and Exercise Physiology Section
Lecture: "Fundamental Question of Biology: How Does the Body Adapt to Physical Inactivity?" Monday, April 3, 3:15 p.m.

Hiroko Nishimura - University of Tennessee HSC
August Krogh Distinguished Lectureship
APS Comparative & Evolutionary Physiology Section
Lecture: "Urine Concentration and Aquaporin Water Channels - Evolution and Development." Tuesday, April 4, 9 a.m.

Richard N. Bergman - University of Southern California School of Medicine
Solomon A. Berson Distinguished Lectureship
APS Endocrinology and Metabolism Section
Lecture: "Confessions of a Supermodel." Tuesday, April 4, 10:30 a.m.

Joe G.N. Garcia - University of Chicago Medical Center
Julius H. Comroe Jr. Distinguished Lectureship
APS Respiration Section
Lecture: "Genomic Insights into Inflammatory Lung Injury." Tuesday, April 4, 2 p.m.

The awards carry the following honoraria:

  • Walter B. Cannon, $4,000
  • Henry Pickering Bowditch, $2,500
  • Walter C. Randall for Biomedical Ethics, $1,000
  • Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist, $1,000
  • The 12 distinguished lectureships, $1,000 each


Note: Members of the press interested in attending one or more of the APS lectures and to register for the Experimental Biology 2006 conference, may contact Communications Officer Mayer Resnick at 301.634.7209 (office), 301.332.4402 (cell), or Communications Specialist Christine Guilfoy 301.634.7253 office or

The American Physiological Society was founded in 1887 to foster scientific research, education, and the dissemination of scientific information. The Bethesda, Maryland-based society has more than 10,000 members and publishes 14 peer-reviewed journals containing 4,000 articles annually.

APS provides a wide range of research, educational and career support and programming to further the contributions of physiology to understanding the mechanisms of diseased and healthy states. In May 2004, APS received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM).

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.