Public Release: 

Memorial symposium scheduled at Yale to honor D. Allan Bromley

Yale University

D. Alan Bromley
Click here for a high resolution photograph.

The symposium will be opened by Yale President Richard C. Levin and J. W. Gibbs Professor of Physics Francesco Iachello. International notables, including former President George H. W. Bush (via videotape), will recognize Bromley's impact on the challenges of science and technology over several decades. In his career he was professor and chaired the Yale physics department. He later served the nation with distinction as the first Cabinet-level Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy. He then returned to revitalize engineering at Yale as Dean.

Distinguished speakers will include John H. Sununu, former Governor of New Hampshire and first White House Chief of Staff for George H. W. Bush, Neal Lane, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy under President William J. Clinton, John H. Marburger III, current Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, and Mary Good, Dean of Donaghey College of Information Science and Systems Engineering at the University of Arkansas.

"Allan Bromley was a great scientist and a great leader. In three successive careers, he built our physics department, served the nation with distinction, and thoroughly revitalized engineering at Yale. With intelligence, energy, and enthusiasm he inspired countless students and colleagues," said Levin at the time of Bromley's death. "Where he led, we willingly followed."

Sessions of the symposium will be chaired by Paul Fleury, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and F.W. Beinecke Professor of Engineering and Applied Physics; Ramamurti Shankar, Chair and J.R. Huffman Professor of Physics; and other renowned faculty from Columbia University, the Institut für Kernphysik, Darmstadt, Germany, the Japan Science Foundation and the Brookhaven National Laboratory.

The symposium session on the morning of December 8 will be held in the Levinson Auditorium of Yale Law School, 127 Wall Street, New Haven. Those on the afternoon of December 8 and morning of December 9 will be in Davies Auditorium of Becton Center, 15 Prospect Street, New Haven. All talks are free of charge and open to the public. There will be a luncheon and banquet for registered participants.


A full program of the symposium is available on the worldwide web at . For further information contact Bridget Calendo at or 203-432-4224.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.