Public Release: 

Osborn named Guyton Teacher of the Year by APS

University of Kentucky

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 4, 2007) -- Jeffrey L. Osborn, professor, University of Kentucky College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Biology, and science outreach professor of the Appalachian Math Science Partnership (AMSP), has been named the 2007 Arthur C. Guyton Teacher of the Year by the American Physiological Society (APS).

In addition to research on the neural control of renal sodium and water balance and the role of renal sympathetic control mechanisms in genetic models of hypertension, Osborn is principal investigator on a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant of nearly $2 million to evaluate the science skills of more than 10,000 seventh and eighth grade Appalachian students.

The Guyton Award is given to an APS member who is a full-time faculty member of an accredited college or university and involved in classroom teaching and not exclusively the teaching of graduate students in a research laboratory. Osborn received a $1,000 honorarium as well as funding to attend the Experimental Biology annual meeting of APS in Washington, D.C. where he accepted the award May 1.

Osborn is the third member of the UK faculty to receive the award in recent years. Other winners were Daniel R. Richardson in 2006 and Donald T. Frazier in 1997, both of the UK College of Medicine, Department of Physiology.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.