Public Release: 

Honor for University of Nottingham professor

University of Nottingham

A University of Nottingham academic has been elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences in recognition of his work as a researcher and clinician.

Neil Marlow, Professor of Neonatal Medicine in the University's Medical School, has been honoured by his peers for excellence in medical science. Professor Marlow has carried out extensive research into the care and treatment of newborn babies, particularly those who are born extremely prematurely.

His election to the Academy is a resounding endorsement of his work -- Fellows are elected for outstanding contributions to the advancement of medical science, for innovative application of scientific knowledge and conspicuous service to healthcare.

The Academy of Medical Sciences promotes advances in medical science and campaigns to ensure these are translated as quickly as possible into healthcare benefits for society. The Academy's 800 Fellows are the UK's leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, industry and public service.

Professor Marlow said: "I am honoured to be elected a fellow of the Academy and it really is a tribute to the fantastic team of individuals I have working with me in Nottingham, and around the country, that have produced world class research."

Among Professor Marlow's current major research projects is the EPICure study, the first in the UK to study a group of babies born extremely prematurely and follow them longitudinally through into adolescence.

The results of this study, which is funded by the Medical Research Council, are helping to improve understanding of the challenges faced by babies born at 25 weeks gestation or less, and improve the treatment they receive.

Professor Marlow and his team also have an important collaborative project, using MRI with the School of Psychology, to evaluate neuropsychology in relation to brain structure in very premature children.

This year just 40 Fellows from around the UK were chosen from 355 candidates. The seven sectional committees met earlier this year to consider potential Fellows for 2007 entry to the Academy. Three nominators from within the Fellowship must back each candidate.

Professor John Bell, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said: "These Fellows enter the Academy at a time when health and medical science issues are high on the public and political agenda.

"Our Fellows demonstrate the wealth of experience and diversity of talent amongst the UK's research community. Their excellence in medical research plays a pivotal role in determining the future of medical science and the benefits that society will enjoy in years to come.

"Changes in funding structures and calls for public debate over controversial topics such as stem cells, hybrid embryos and the use of animals in research will all have an impact on medical science in the coming years.

"For the promise of our Fellows' work to be fulfilled it is vital that appropriate policies and regulations are in place to ensure research is not unduly hindered, but at the same time progresses in harmony with society."

The Academy Registrar, Professor Patrick Maxwell, Professor of Nephrology at Imperial College London, oversees the election.

The expertise of the new Fellows announced this week spans cancer research, developmental biology, stem cell therapy, medical education, bioethics and the history of modern medicine. They will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony in London on June 28.


Notes to editors: The University of Nottingham is Britain's University of the Year (The Times Higher Awards 2006). It undertakes world-changing research, provides innovative teaching and a student experience of the highest quality. Ranked by Newsweek in the world's Top 75 universities, its academics have won two Nobel Prizes since 2003. The University is an international institution with campuses in the United Kingdom, Malaysia and China.

More information is available from Professor Neil Marlow, University of Nottingham Medical School, on +44 (0)115 823 0625,; or Media Relations Manager Tim Utton in the University's Media and Public Relations Office on +44 (0)115 846 8092,

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.