Public Release: 

Boeing technical fellow and German senior scientist recognized at AIAA August conference

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

August 13, 2007 -- Reston, VA -- The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is proud to announce that the following awards will be presented during the AIAA Guidance, Navigation, and Control Conference and Exhibit, AIAA Atmospheric Flight Mechanics Conference and Exhibit, and the AIAA Modeling and Simulation Technologies Conference and Exhibit, August 20-23 at the Marriott Hilton Head Beach and Golf Resort, in Hilton Head, South Carolina.

David G. Miller, Technical Fellow at The Boeing Company Rotorcraft Division in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, will receive the AIAA 2007 de Florez Award for Flight Simulation. Miller is being recognized for outstanding achievements and innovative approaches in modeling and simulation of complex rotorcraft aeromechanical systems that led to important and broadly applied advancements in rotorcraft flying qualities and flight control technologies.

Miller will receive an engraved medal, a certificate of citation and a rosette pin during the Tuesday, August 21 awards luncheon.

An AIAA Sustained Service Award will also be presented at the luncheon. Ravindra Jategaonkar, who is Senior Scientist with the DLR German Aerospace Center, Institute of Flight Systems in Braunschweig, Germany will receive a certificate of citation and lapel pin recognizing his sustained significant service and contributions to AIAA.


For more information about the AIAA Honors and Award program, please contact Carol Stewart at or at 703/264-7623.

AIAA advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, D.C., the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.