Public Release: 

American Political Science Association announces 2007 awards

American Political Science Association

Washington, DC--The American Political Science Association (APSA) is pleased to announce its 2007 awards for excellence in the study, teaching, and practice of politics. The awards will be presented at the 103rd APSA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois on Thursday, August 30 at 12:45 PM in the Crystal Rooms of the Hyatt Regency Chicago.

Career Awards

The Honorable David Obey (U.S. House of Representatives, D-Wisconsin) will receive the Hubert H. Humphrey Award in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Ronald Brownstein (Los Angeles Times) will receive the Carey McWilliams Award to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Laurence E. Lynn (Texas A&M University) will receive the John Gaus Award and Lectureship to honor a lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration and to recognize achievement and encourage scholarship in public administration.

Anthony Downs (The Brookings Institution) will receive the Benjamin E. Lippincott Award, granted to a living political theorist for a work of exceptional quality that is still considered significant after a time span of at least 15 years since the publication date. His book is entitled An Economic Theory of Democracy (Harper and Brothers, 1957).

Robert D. Putnam (Harvard University) will receive the Charles E. Merriam Award, presented biennially to a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research.

Lawrence Lessig (Stanford University) will receive the Ithiel de Sola Pool Award and Lectureship, presented triennially to honor the memory and contributions of Ithiel de Sola Pool and given to a scholar to present a lecture exploring the implications of research on issues of politics in a broad range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel de Sola Pool.

Book Awards

The Ralph J. Bunche Award is for the best scholarly work in political science published in the previous calendar year that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism. The 2007 joint recipients are co-authors Fredrick C. Harris (Columbia University), Valeria Sinclair-Chapman (University of Rochester), and Brian D. McKenzie (Texas A&M University) for Countervailing Forces in African-American Civic Activism, 1973-1994 (Cambridge University Press, 2006), and Mark Q. Sawyer (University of California, Los Angeles) for Racial Politics in Post-Revolutionary Cuba (Cambridge University Press, 2006).

The Gladys M. Kammerer Award is for the best political science publication in the previous calendar year in the field of U.S. national policy. The 2007 recipients are co-authors Benjamin I. Page (Northwestern University) and Marshall Bouton (Chicago Council on Global Affairs) for The Foreign Policy Disconnect: What Americans Want from Our Leaders But Don't Get (University of Chicago Press, 2006).

The Victoria Schuck Award is for the best book published in the previous calendar year on women and politics. The 2007 joint recipients are Shireen Hassim (University of Witwatersand) for Women's Organizations and Democracy in South Africa (University of Wisconsin Press, 2005), and Kathrin S. Zippel (Northeastern University) for The Politics of Sexual Harassment: A Comparative Study of the United States, the European Union, and Germany (Cambridge University Press, 2006).

The Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award is for the best book published in the U.S. during the previous calendar year on government, politics, or international affairs. The award is supported by the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. The 2007 joint recipients are Stathis Kalyvas (Yale University) for The Logic of Violence in Civil War (Cambridge University Press, 2006), and co-authors Daron Acemoglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and James Robinson (Harvard University) for Economic Origins of Democracy and Dictatorship (Cambridge University Press, 2005).

Paper and Journal Article Awards

The Heinz Eulau Award is for the best journal article published in American Political Science Review and Perspectives on Politics during the previous calendar year (an award is made for each journal). The 2007 APSR award recipients are co-authors Daron Acemoglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) with James Robinson (Harvard University) for "Economic Backwardness in Political Perspective," Volume 100, Issue 01, February 2006, pp. 115-131. The 2007 Perspectives on Politics award recipient is Jonas Pontusson (Princeton University) for "The American Welfare State in Comparative Perspective: Reflections on Alberto Alesina and Edward L. Glaeser, Fighting Poverty in the U.S. and Europe," Volume 4, Issue 02, June 2005, pp. 315-326

The Franklin L. Burdette Pi Sigma Alpha Award is for the best paper presented at the previous annual meeting. The 2007 recipients are co-authors Dennis Chong and James N. Druckman (Northwestern University) for their article "Democratic Competition and Public Opinion."

Dissertation Awards

Emmanuel Teitelbaum (Cornell University) will receive the Gabriel A. Almond Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of comparative politics. His dissertation is entitled "Mobilizing Restraint: Unions and the Politics of Economic Development in South Asia."

Ronald S. Smith (Indiana University) will receive the William Anderson Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of state and local politics, federalism, or intergovernmental relations. His dissertation is entitled "Discerning Differences in Social Capital."

Maria D. Popova (Harvard University) will receive the Edward S. Corwin Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of public law. Her dissertation is entitled "Judicial Independence and Political Corruption: Electoral and Defamation Disputes in Russia and Ukraine."

Vanda Felbab-Brown (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) will receive the Harold D. Lasswell Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of policy studies (supported by the Policy Studies Organization). Her dissertation is entitled "Shooting Up: The Impact of Illicit Economies on Military Conflict."

Jason Lyall, (Cornell University) will receive the Helen Dwight Reid Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of international relations, law and politics (supported by the Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation). His dissertation is entitled "Paths of Ruin: Why Revisionist States Arise and Die in World Politics."

Michael M. Franz (Bowdoin College) will receive the E.E. Schattschneider Award For the best doctoral dissertation in the field of American government. His dissertation is entitled "Choices and Changes: Interest Groups in the Electoral Process."

Lars Tønder (The Johns Hopkins University) will receive the Leo Strauss Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of political philosophy. His dissertation is entitled "Experiences of Tolerance: Immanence, Transcendence, Hilaritas."

Daniel Gingerich (Harvard University) will receive the Leonard D. White Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of public administration. His dissertation is entitled "Corruption in General Equilibrium: Political Institutions and Bureaucratic Performance in South America."


The American Political Science Association (est. 1903) is the leading professional organization for the study of politics and has over 14,000 members in 80 countries. For more news and information about political science research visit the APSA media website,

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.