Public Release: 

National Academies advisory: April 6 symposium celebrating the International Polar Year

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

The National Academy of Sciences and the National Science Foundation will co-host a symposium that highlights the early accomplishments of International Polar Year -- the global research effort to better understand the polar regions. With more than 200 scientific expeditions and a thousand research projects to discuss, the speakers will focus their talks on climate change, polar ice sheet stability and sea level, polar ecosystems, and people in the changing Arctic.


Monday, April 6, from 2:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the National Academy of Sciences building, 2100 C St., N.W., Washington, D.C. Those who cannot attend may watch a live video webcast of the event at The event is free and open to the public. Registration required. The agenda and registrations are available online at

Reporters who wish to attend must register in advance with the National Academies' Office of News and Public Information, tel. 202-334-2138 or e-mail


  • RALPH CICERONE, president, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.
  • ARDEN L. BEMENT JR.; director, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Va.
  • HAJO EICKEN, associate professor of geophysics, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
  • DAVID HOLLAND, director, Center for Atmosphere Ocean Science, New York University, New York City
  • TIM KILLEN, assistant director for geosciences, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Va.
  • STEPHANIE PFIRMAN, Hirschorn Professor and chair, department of environmental science, Barnard College, New York City
  • DIANA WALL, founding director, School for Global Environmental Sustainability, Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • JAMES WHITE, fellow and director of Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, and professor of geological sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.