Public Release: 

American Political Science Association announces 2009 awards

American Political Science Association

Washington, DC--The American Political Science Association (APSA) is pleased to announce its 2009 awards for excellence in the study, teaching, and practice of politics. The awards will be presented at the 105th APSA Annual Meeting in Toronto, ON, Canada on Thursday, September 3 at 12:45pm in room 205B of the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

Career Awards

Larry O'Toole (University of Georgia) will receive the John Gaus Award and Lectureship to honor a lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration, and to recognize achievement and encourage scholarship in public administration.

Catherine McArdle Kelleher (University of Maryland, College Park) will receive the Hubert H. Humphrey Award in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Kenneth J. Arrow and Jürgen Habermas will jointly receive the Benjamin E. Lippincott Award in recognition of work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that is still considered significant after a time span of at least 15 years since the original publication. This award is presented biennially.

Fareed Zakaria (Newsweek International) will receive the Carey McWilliams Award to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Michael Doyle (Columbia University) will receive the Charles E. Merriam Award to honor published work and a career representative of a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research. This award is presented biennially.

Book Awards

The Ralph J. Bunche Award is awarded for the best scholarly work in political science published in the previous calendar year that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism. The 2009 joint recipients are Richard Iton (Northwestern University) for In Search of the Black Fantastic: Politics and Popular Culture in the Post-Civil Rights Era (Oxford University Press, 2008) and Julie Novkov (SUNY, Albany) for Racial Union: Law, Intimacy, and the White State in Alabama (University of Michigan Press, 2008).

The Gladys M. Kammerer Award is awarded for the best political science publication in the field of U.S. national policy. The 2009 recipient is Larry Bartels (Princeton University) for Unequal Democracy (Princeton University Press, 2008).

The Victoria Schuck Award is awarded for the best book published in the previous calendar year on women and politics. The 2009 recipient is Kristin Bumiller (Amherst College) for In an Abusive State: How Neoliberalism Appropriated the Feminist Movement Against Sexual Violence (Duke University Press, 2008).

The Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award is awarded for the best book published in the U.S. during the previous calendar year on government, politics, or international affairs. The award is supported by the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. The 2009 recipient is Jens Meierhenrich (Harvard University) for The Legacies of Law: Long-Run Consequences of Legal Development in South Africa, 1652-2000 (Cambridge University Press, 2008).

Paper and Journal Article Awards

The Heinz Eulau Award is awarded for the best journal articles published in American Political Science Review and Perspectives on Politics during the previous calendar year (an award is made for each journal). The 2009 APSR joint recipients are Roger Myerson (University of Chicago) for "The Autocrat's Credibility Problem and Foundations of the Constitutional State." American Political Science Review Volume 102, Issue 01, February 2008 and Michael L. Ross (University of California, Los Angeles) for "Oil, Islam, and Women." American Political Science Review Volume 102, Issue 01, February 2008. The 2009 Perspectives on Politics award recipient is Elizabeth J. Perry (Harvard University) for "Chinese Concepts of Rights: From Menicius to Mao - and Now" Perspectives, March 2008.

Dissertation Awards

Lisa A. Blaydes (Stanford University) will receive the Gabriel A. Almond Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of comparative politics. Her dissertation is entitled "Competition Without Democracy: Elections and Distributive Politics in Mubarak's Egypt."

Alison Post (University of California, Berkeley) will receive the William Anderson Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of state and local politics, federalism, or intergovernmental relations. Her dissertation is entitled "Liquid Assets and Fluid Contracts: Explaining the Uneven Effects of Water and Sanitation Privatization."

Mark Massoud (Stanford University) will receive the Edward S. Corwin Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of public law. His dissertation is entitled "Who Rules the Law? How Government, Civil Society, and Aid Agencies Manipulate Law in Sudan."

Michael Schoon (Indiana University) will receive the Harold D. Lasswell Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of policy studies (supported by the Policy Studies Organization and the APSA Public Policy Organized Section). His dissertation is entitled "Building Robustness to Disturbance: Governance in Southern African Peace Parks."

Jessica C. Weiss (Yale University) will receive the Helen Dwight Reid Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of international relations, law and politics (supported by the Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation). Her dissertation is entitled "Powerful Patriots: Nationalism, Diplomacy, and the Strategic Logic of Anti-Foreign Protest."

Traci Burch (Northwestern University) will receive the E.E. Schattschneider Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of American government. Her dissertation is entitled "Punishment and Participation: How Criminal Convictions Threaten American Democracy."

Robert Alan Sparling (University of Ottawa) will receive the Leo Strauss Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of political philosophy. His dissertation is entitled "Johann Georg Hamann and the Enlightenment Project."

Zachary Oberfield (University of Wisconsin, Madison) will receive the Leonard D. White Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of public administration. His dissertation is entitled "Becoming the Man: How Street-Level Bureaucrats Develop Their Workplace Identities and Views."

Goodnow Award

Kenneth Janda (Northwestern University) will receive the Frank J. Goodnow Award to honor contributions to the development of the political science profession and the building of the American Political Science Association.


The American Political Science Association (est. 1903) is the leading professional organization for the study of politics and has over 15,000 members in 80 countries. For more news and information about political science research visit the APSA media website,

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.