Public Release: 

National Science Board to meet Aug. 5-6 in Arlington, Va.

Discussions to address developments in regional arctic climate modeling, the National Ecological Observatory Network and STEM grand challenges

National Science Foundation

On August 5 and 6, the National Science Board (NSB) will meet to address science and engineering policy issues and oversight of the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Open session highlights of the NSB meeting include:

Wed., August 5
8:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.

  • Developments in Regional Arctic Climate Modeling (Committee on Programs and Plans)
  • Update on the National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) (Committee on Programs and Plans)
  • Details on the NSF Data Policy (Committee on Programs and Plans)
  • STEM Education Grand Challenges (Committee on Education and Human Resources)

Thurs., August 6
8:00 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.

  • Human Resource Management at NSF (Committee on Audit and Oversight)
  • Update on NSF awards using its $3 billion allocation of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) funds (Committee on Strategy and Budget & Committee on Audit and Oversight)

The full meeting agenda is posted at:

Public visitors must arrange for a visitor's badge in advance in order to attend. Call 703-292-7000 to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitor's desk on the day of the meeting. Media representatives are invited to attend all open sessions, subject to provisions of the Government in the Sunshine Act.

All meeting sessions will be held in rooms 1235 and 1295 at NSF headquarters: 4201 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Va. (Ballston metro stop).

Journalists interested in attending and covering the board meeting and/or interviewing NSF/NSB officials, should contact Lisa-Joy Zgorski at 703-292-8311 by 7 a.m. on Wed., August 6, to enable security arrangements.


The NSB is the 25-member policymaking body for the National Science Foundation and advisory body to the President and Congress on science and engineering issues. Drawn from universities and industry, and representing a variety of science and engineering disciplines and geographic areas, NSB members are selected for their eminence in research, education, or public service, and records of distinguished service. The NSB has 24 members that serve six-year terms. The 25th member is the NSF Director, an ex officio member of the NSB. For more background on the NSB and its current composition, visit:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.