Public Release: 

The evolving role of CIOs in organizations: Top CIOs to gather at UC Berkeley

Presentation of the first annual Fisher-Hopper Prize for Lifetime Achievement in CIO Leadership Award

University of California - Berkeley Haas School of Business


The world's most visionary chief information officers will come together at the University of California, Berkeley's Haas School of Business to share ideas and insights about the future of their important roles in organizations. The gathering will include members of the "Renaissance CIOs" - the 14 CIOs identified by renowned CIO Max Hopper who led the development of the Sabre computerized travel-reservation system that transformed the airline industry - as the most influential CIOs of their time.

Companies represented include Cisco, Charles Schwab, Chemical Bank, City of Cleveland, Fannie Mae, FritoLay, Marriott Int'l, Merrill-Lynch, WalMart AT&T, Flextronics, The Gap, Proctor & Gamble, and UPS.

Co-sponsored by the Haas School's Fisher CIO Leadership Program and Gartner Inc., the world's leading information technology research and advisory company, the day will culminate with a celebratory banquet to announce the winner of the first annual Fisher-Hopper Prize for Lifetime Achievement in CIO Leadership. The award will be bestowed in memory of Berkeley-Haas alumnus and founder of Gap Inc. Don Fisher and Max Hopper.


For more information:


Friday, September 14, 2012
1-5 p.m. Speakers and panel discussions
6 p.m. Cocktails & Networking
7-9 p.m. Award Banquet


Afternoon Speakers: Wells Fargo Room, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

Evening Events: Horizon Room, The Claremont Hotel, 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705


Panel speakers:

Mark McDonald, Gartner Inc. group vice president, Gartner Fellow

Bob Johansen, Institute for the Future forecaster and social scientist

Felix Thaddeus Arroyo, AT&T CIO

Dawn Lepore, former Charles Schwab CIO

Dave Smoley, Flextronics senior vice-president and CIO

Charlie Feld, former FritoLay CIO


Graham Waller, Gartner Executive Programs vice-president

CIO Finalists for the Fisher-Hopper Lifetime Achievement Award:

Felix Thaddeus Arroyo, AT&T

Filippo Passerini, Proctor & Gamble

Dave Smoley, Flextronics

Dave Barnes, UPS

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.