Public Release: 

MARC travel awards announced for the 2012 ABRCMS Annual Meeting

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Bethesda, MD - FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) Annual Meeting in San Jose, CA from November 7-10, 2012.

These awards are meant to promote the entry of undergraduate students from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the 2012 ABRCMS Annual Meeting. Awards are given to poster/platform presenters. This year MARC conferred 62 awards totaling $119,800.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty from underrepresented groups who are engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.


FASEB is composed of 26 societies with more than 100,000 members, making it the largest coalition of biomedical research associations in the United States. Celebrating 100 Years of Advancing the Life Sciences in 2012, FASEB is rededicating its efforts to advance health and well-being by promoting progress and education in biological and biomedical sciences through service to our member societies and collaborative advocacy.


Theophilus Abah, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Juan Alvarez, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Chasy Amado, University of Guam [APS Member]
Elizabeth Berrigan, Chapman University
Alexandria Broadnax, Dillard University
Nadine Bucca, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Jonathan Colon Ortiz, University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez
Mary DiVita, Chaminade University of Honolulu
Elisabeth Dewailly, Harvard University
Schnaude Dorizan, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Norma Elizaga, University of Guam
Marshe' Edwards, Bennett College
Shelby Goicochea, University of Florida
Simone Hairston, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
Jordan Harper, Fort Valley State University
Chantal Harris, University of Florida
Madhu Karamsetty, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Nilsa La Cunza, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Oluwabusayo Lana, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Michael Lopresti, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Asia Motley, Norfolk State University
Ian Mwangi, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Maeva Nyandjo, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Greisha Ortiz-Hernandez, Universidad Metropolitana
Kimberly Pegues, Mississippi Valley State University
Talmo Pereira, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Vibha Rao, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Anabel Rodriguez, St. Edwards University
Sebastian Sanchez, Universidad Metropolitana
Treston Silva, Chaminade University of Honolulu
LaTonya Simon, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Patricia Timi, University of Maryland-Baltimore County



Alana Adkins, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
Mary Rose Canlas, University of Guam
Miguel Cuevas Melendez, University of Puerto Rico at Cayey
Chimdi Ego-Osuala, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Diane Fru, Iowa State University
Chardai Grays, Dillard University
Mateo Hernandez, University of South Florida
Hira Shabbir, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Nichole Lathan, Dillard University
Daryl Lewis, North Carolina Central University
Felnor Maldonado-Cotto, University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez
Tomas Meijome, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Thien Thanh Nguyen, Virginia Commonwealth University, School of Medicine
Vera Obinwanne, North Carolina Central University
Jackeline Palencia, Universidad del Este
Cesar Rivera, University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez
Katia Torres, University of Puerto Rico Arecibo


Dr. Bolaji Thomas, Rochester Institute of Technology [AAI Member]
Tristan de Jesus, Rochester Institute of Technology [AAI Member]
Ornella Rutagarama, Rochester Institute of Technology [AAI Member]
Dr. L'Aurelle Johnson, University of Minnesota [ASPET Member]
Dr. LeeCole Legette, Oregon State University [ACSM Member]
Dr. Kimberly Mulligan, Vanderbilt University [APS Member]
Janice Reuben, The University of Michigan
Dr. Jayne Reuben, University of South Carolina School of Medicine [ASIP Member]
Dr. Kennie Shepherd, Morehouse School of Technology, [ASPET Member]
Dr. David Vigerust, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine [AAI Member]
Dr. Tracy Womble, Florida A&M University
Dr. Cecelia Yates-Binder, University of Pittsburgh [ASIP Member]
Dr. Eduardo Rosa-Molinar, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus [SDB, HCS & AAA Member]

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.