Public Release: 

34 ASPB members elected to 2012 class of AAAS Fellows

Plant biologists honored for advancing science

American Society of Plant Biologists

ROCKVILLE, MD -- Thirty-four members of the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) were elected to the 2012 class of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows. This year's class includes ASPB members from academic, independent, and government research institutions in the United States and abroad. Each year the AAAS Council elects fellows based on their contributions to science and technology in the areas of research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are defined as AAAS members "whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished."

New Fellows will be honored with a certificate and a blue and gold rosette to symbolize their distinguished achievements at the AAAS Annual Meeting, Fellows Forum on February 16, 2012 in Boston, Massachusetts.

The following ASPB members have been named AAAS Fellows:

Section on Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources:

  • Richard M. Bostock - University of California, Davis
  • Edward S. Buckler - Cornell University; USDA-ARS
  • John James Finer - The Ohio State University
  • Avtar Krishan Handa - Purdue University
  • Maria J. Harrison - Cornell University; Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research
  • Karen E. Koch - University of Florida
  • Cathie Martin - John Innes Centre
  • Melvin J. Oliver - USDA-ARS; University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Michael Karl Udvardi - Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation
  • Jonathan D. Walton - Michigan State University

Section on Biological Sciences:

  • Paul G. Ahlquist - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Gynheung An - Kyung Hee University, South Korea
  • Susan H. Brawley - University of Maine
  • Thomas P. Brutnell - Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • Nicholas C. Carpita - Purdue University
  • Luca Comai - University of California, Davis
  • Xing Wang Deng - Yale University
  • Joseph R. Ecker - Salk Institute for Biological Studies
  • Jonathan Gershenzon - Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Germany
  • Beverley R. Green - University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Georg Jander - Cornell University; Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research
  • Alan M. Jones - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Daniel F. Klessig, Cornell University; Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research
  • Elena M. Kramer - Harvard University
  • Sheng Luan - University of California, Berkeley
  • Blake C. Meyers - University of Delaware
  • Joseph P. Noel - Salk Institute for Biological Studies
  • Eran Pichersky - University of Michigan
  • Danny J. Schnell - University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Jane Silverthorne - National Science Foundation
  • Keiko U. Torii - University of Washington
  • Geoffrey O. Wasteneys - University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Ruth Welti - Kansas State University
  • Shuqun Zhang - University of Missouri-Columbia

The entire list of 2012 AAAS fellows can be found on the AAAS website:


ASPB is a professional scientific society, headquartered in Rockville, Maryland, devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences worldwide. With a membership of some 4500 plant scientists from throughout the United States and more than 50 other nations, the Society publishes two of the most widely cited plant science journals: The Plant Cell and Plant Physiology. For more information about ASPB, please visit Also follow ASPB on Facebook at and on Twitter @ASPB.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.