Public Release: 

SIAM announces class of 2013 fellows

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Philadelphia, PA - The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) is pleased to announce the 2013 Class of SIAM Fellows. These distinguished members were nominated for their exemplary research as well as outstanding service to the community. Through their contributions, SIAM Fellows help advance the fields of applied mathematics and computational science.

SIAM would like to congratulate these 33 members of the community listed below in alphabetical order:

Randolph E. Bank, University of California, San Diego
Kaushik Bhattacharya, California Institute of Technology
Jerry L. Bona, University of Illinois at Chicago
Oscar Bruno, California Institute of Technology
John A. Burns, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Raymond Honfu Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Andrew R. Conn, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Benoit Couet, Schlumberger-Doll Research Center
Timothy A. Davis, University of Florida
Qiang Du, Penn State University
Michael C. Ferris, University of Wisconsin--Madison
Christodoulos A. Floudas, Princeton University
Michel X. Goemans, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Andrew V. Goldberg, Microsoft Research
Alan Hastings, University of California, Davis
Sze-Bi Hsu, National Tsing Hua University
Shi Jin, Shanghai Jiao Tong University and University of Wisconsin--Madison
David Kinderlehrer, Carnegie Mellon University
Edgar Knobloch, University of California, Berkeley
C. David Levermore, University of Maryland, College Park
Marc Mangel, University of California, Santa Cruz
Hans G. Othmer, University of Minnesota
Haesun Park, Georgia Institute of Technology
Robert J. Plemmons, Wake Forest University
John Rinzel, New York University
Björn Sandstede, Brown University
Guillermo Sapiro, Duke University
Michael A. Saunders, Stanford University
Larry L. Schumaker, Vanderbilt University
Horst D. Simon, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Peter R. Turner, Clarkson University
Pauline van den Driessche, University of Victoria
James A. Yorke, University of Maryland, College Park


You can read further details about individual Fellows' accomplishments and citations at the link below:

A full list of the 2013 Class of Fellows can also be found on the SIAM Fellows page here:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.