Public Release: 

SAGE announces winners of the ACJS SAGE Junior Faculty Teaching Award

Reception to honor award recipients at the Academy of Criminal Justice 50th Annual Meeting


Los Angeles, CA (March 13, 2013) SAGE and the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) are pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 ACJS SAGE Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Given out annually, the ten award winners are promising new faculty members in the criminal justice and criminology disciplines. Each winner will receive a grant to help underwrite their travel to the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences 2013 annual meeting in Dallas, Texas.

Winners of this year's award include:

  • Valerie Bell - Loras College
  • Constance Kostelac - Simpson College
  • Cheryl Jonson - Northern Kentucky University
  • Emanuel Boussios - SUNY Nassau Community College
  • Michele Bratina - Keiser University
  • Colby Valentine - Dominican College
  • Cassandra Reyes - West Chester University of Pennsylvania
  • Mary Evans - University of Southern Mississippi
  • Christina Mancini - Florida Atlantic University
  • Christopher O'Connor - University of Wisconsin - Superior.

Award recipients were selected from applicants who had received a graduate degree within the last five years and had taught criminal justice or criminology full time for less than five years.

"SAGE is delighted to support an award that promotes the professional development of young faculty in the criminal justice sciences for five consecutive years," said Jerry Westby, SAGE Publisher. "This award affords rising criminal justice faculty the opportunity to share teaching and learning insights with colleagues from around the country and to create a network of support at the beginning of their career. We are very happy to take advantage of this opportunity to give back to the criminal justice discipline."

2,000 of the nation's leading educators, researchers, practitioners, and students shaping the criminal justice field will convene at the ACJS 50th annual meeting - one of the largest gatherings of Criminology and Criminal Justice scholars in the US and Canada. The award winners of Junior Faculty Teaching Award will be honored at a reception held in their honor.


SAGE is a leading international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media for academic, educational, and professional markets. Since 1965, SAGE has helped inform and educate a global community of scholars, practitioners, researchers, and students spanning a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. An independent company, SAGE has principal offices in Los Angeles, London, New Delhi, Singapore and Washington DC.

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.

The ACJS 50th Annual Meeting is the second largest gathering of Criminology and Criminal Justice educators, researchers, practitioners, and students shaping the criminal justice world in the US and Canada.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.